Brussel Sprout Breakfast Casserole

Well, well, well, where have I been? I had good intentions for posts in the New Year, but my life has definitely been more busy than anticipated lately. So unfortunately for any of my readers: family, friends, boyfriend and work responsibilities take precedence over blog posts. But! I am back and I have something delicious for you!

You might be thinking Brussel sprouts… For breakfast? Yes, seems a little strange, but if you like them in their normal dinner uses then you will like this. I have been very into this veggie since my friend Sarah made roasted Brussel sprouts at thanksgiving. Since then I have done my share of roasting and sautéing, but I wanted something new, so here we go!

You will need:

10 oz shaved Brussel sprouts
2 tbs olive oil (garlic olive oil if you have it)
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp thyme
Cracked black pepper to taste
1/2 cup nonfat Greek yogurt
2 tbs milk
10 eggs
10 oz frozen shredded potatoes, thawed
8 oz feta cheese (I used Mediterranean herb from Trader Joes- amazing)
Cooking spray

Preheat the oven to 350.

Add olive oil to a sauté pan on medium heat. I used half garlic oil and half regular. Add in the shaved sprouts. Trader joes sells bags of shredded Brussel sprouts and I used that, but you could also rough chop some sprouts if you don’t have a TJs nearby. It’s about 2 cups of shredded sprouts. Add salt, pepper and thyme. Sauté about 5 minutes and then turn off the heat.

20130312-074650.jpg

In a large bowl add the Greek yogurt and milk stirring to combine. This thins out the yogurt a little so it combines better with the eggs. Crack 10 eggs into the bowl and whisk. Next add the potatoes.

20130312-074856.jpg

20130312-074933.jpg

Next add in the sautéed sprouts and 2/3 of the cheese, stirring to combine.

20130312-075105.jpg

Boots has been missing me since I have been so busy lately. Now when I am home he is pretty much attached at my hip, so he will be in a bunch of these pics, haha. Pour the mixture into a 9×13 dish that has been sprayed with cooking spray.

20130312-075344.jpg

Then add the rest of the cheese evenly to the top of the casserole.

20130312-075420.jpg

20130312-080253.jpg

Bake in the oven covered for 30 minutes and then uncovered for another 20. Let cool for a few minutes before serving. This makes 6-8 pieces depending how hungry you are or if you are serving it alone vs with something else. This would pair nicely with a salad for a brunch or dinner application. Enjoy!

20130312-080559.jpg

20130312-080834.jpg

20130312-080852.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Sunday Dinners and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

