New Year Black Eyed Pea Casserole

Happy New Year! Finally(!) a post after what was a very crazy and fun filled December. Usually food blogs thrive in the holiday season, mine obviously did the opposite haha. Don’t worry though- I have big plans this year for the blog. More to come soon!

Anywho, I digress. New Years has always been a hit or miss holiday for me, but I had a great time last night! It’s been said that eating black eyes peas on new years day will bring you luck for the whole year. Let’s hope so! Even if it doesn’t this dish was really great! I wasn’t quite sure what to expect but was pleasantly surprised how much I enjoyed it.

This was adapted from the New Complete Vegetarian by Rose Elliot. (pretty adapted since it is no longer a vegetarian dish here, haha.)

You will need:

2 tbs garlic olive oil
1 small white onion
2 cups chopped mushrooms (I used oyster and cremini)
2 cans black eyed peas (drained, rinsed and mashed)
1 can fire roasted tomatoes (I used one with fennel and red pepper)
1 tbs herbs de provance
1 tsp oregano
1/2 tsp thyme
1 cup chopped smoked ham
2 cups left over mashed potatoes
4 ounces shredded smoked gruyere cheese

20130101-204651.jpg

Preheat the oven to 400.

Add oil to a skillet on medium heat. Sauté onion and mushroom for about 5 minutes or until soft. Add a pinch or salt and pepper as desired. Add mashed black eyed peas. I mashed mine about half way, if you want you can use the food processor.

20130101-205007.jpg

20130101-205032.jpg

Add the can of tomatoes and ham and cook for a few minutes, until heated through. (If you want this vegetarian- just leave out the ham!)

20130101-205240.jpg

Add the mixture to the bottom of a 3 quart casserole dish.

20130101-205404.jpg

Add the mashed potatoes on top. When they are warm they are easier to spread. This is a great way to use up leftover mashed potatoes!!

20130101-205514.jpg

Add cheese on top of the casserole. I used applewood smoked cheese, it’s delicious and not as bad for you as other cheeses.

20130101-205634.jpg

Cover and bake for 25 minutes. Then uncover and bake for 15 more minutes until the top is golden.

20130101-205756.jpg

This makes 6 servings and if you use a cookin light recipe for the mashed potatoes as I did, it should only be about 400 calories per serving.

20130101-210022.jpg

And here is a pic with the cookbook that my friend Marco got me for Christmas!

20130101-210114.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Creative Casseroles and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

