Pumpkin Mushroom Risotto

It has obviously been too long since my last post! I’ve been super busy lately with work and getting together with my college friends. Two weeks ago I flew to Buffalo for my Goddaughters christening. It was great to get to hang out with her and her mother, my old college roommate Kate. We also spent a lot of our downtime watching food network. That’s when I saw Giada make a risotto with pumpkin purée. Mine isn’t really like hers, I made it a more Annsley way. It came put really great and I would definitely, no will definitely, be making it again!

Here is a picture of me and Emmie during the Christening 🙂

20121126-070740.jpg

And now onto the recipe!

You will need:

2 tbs olive oil
20 oz. Fresh Mushrooms, chopped. I used oyster and button. Any variety should work nicely.
1 tsp dried thyme
1/2 tsp garlic powder
Salt and pepper to taste
2 tbs margarine (or butter)
1 small white onion, diced
1/2 cup dry white wine
1 1/2 cups arborio rice
1 quart veggie broth (or chicken if you prefer)
1/2 cup pumpkin purée
1/4 tsp cayenne (optional)
1/2 cup grated pecorino romano cheese (not optional :P)

First you will need to prepare the mushrooms. Add the oil to a large pot on medium heat. I used the same pan for the entire dish, my 3.5 quart Le Creuset braiser. Add the mushrooms, thyme, garlic powder and a little salt and pepper. Cook for about 5 minutes, until the mushrooms are fully cooked.

20121126-071543.jpg

Scoop out the mushrooms and all their juices into a bowl. Don’t drain the liquid, it is useful later. Next add the margarine to the pan and set between medium to medium high heat. Add the onion and sauté until fragrant- a few minutes.

20121126-071930.jpg

In a stock pot add the veggie broth and pumpkin purée, mixing to combine. Heat over low heat to keep the broth warm.

In the pan with the onion add the wine and arborio rice. Cook for a few minutes, stirring constantly, until wine is dissolved.

20121126-072153.jpg

Now for the tedious part. It’s not that bad you just need to constantly be stirring and keeping and eye on the dish. Add a few ladles of broth to the rice mixture (about 3/4 cup) and stir constantly, once the mixture is mostly dissolved- repeat.

20121126-072358.jpg

20121126-072410.jpg

The above picture is a good test to see if it is time to add more liquid. If you scrape across the pan and there isn’t a lot of liquid, add another 3/4 cup. Once all the broth is added to the pan, stir in the mushrooms with their pan juices. Stirring until dissolved.

20121126-072552.jpg

At the end, cut the heat and stir in cayenne (if you like a little kick- I do!) and the cheese until completely combined. Serve hot. And with a little extra cheese on top if you’re like me 😉

20121126-072724.jpg

This dish had 5 servings at 360 calories a serving with 12 grams of fat.

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Special Sides, Sunday Dinners and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

