Spaghetti Squash Alfredo

This post is dedicated to my friend Caitlin. While we were at work this week I was chatting with her about this dish that I had made. I was saying how much I was enjoying bringing it for lunch this week, when we realized that she did not know what a spaghetti squash was! I had never had it until Wegmans printed a recipe for it when I was in college and I decided to make it for our friends thanksgiving. This is not that dish, but another equally as good squash meal. I had this for lunches during the week, but it could make for an awesome side. It also easily becomes vegetarian by omitting the Canadian bacon.

You will need:

1 large spaghetti squash
1 tbs olive oil
1/4 cup white wine
1/2 white onion, diced
3 minced garlic cloves
8 oz sliced baby bella mushrooms
1/2 cup frozen peas
10 slices of chopped Canadian bacon
1 jar lite Alfredo sauce (I used Classico)
1/2 cup pecorino Romano cheese

Start by preparing your squash. I use the microwave! I find it easier than baking it and then having to wash my roasting pan. You do have to cook one half at a time, but it still takes a little shorter than baking. Cut the squash in half and clean out the guts.

20121017-220633.jpg

Put it in a microwave safe bowl and cover with Saran wrap. Cook for 14 minutes. Take it out of the microwave and let it sit for a bit before handling. Once cool enough use a fork to pull the strands from the squash and into a bowl. Cook the other half and do the same thing.

20121017-221001.jpg

20121017-221021.jpg

In a large pot heat on medium heat add oil, onions, wine and garlic. Sauté for a few minutes until the onion becomes translucent. Add the Canadian bacon and cook another few minutes, then add the mushrooms and peas.

20121017-221601.jpg

Once the mushrooms are mostly cooked add the alfredo and the squash. I like to add about half a cup or so of water to the Alfredo jar and shake it up to get all the sauce loose and pour that in too.

20121017-221825.jpg

Once the dish is heated through stir in the cheese. Once it is melted, serve hot.

20121017-222446.jpg

Add a little extra cheese on top if you’d like. (I always like more cheese!)

20121017-222540.jpg

This dish made 5 lunch sized portions that were just under 300 calories a serving. Spaghetti squash is awesome because it has way less calories and carbs than real spaghetti, but is still delicious. Enjoy! 🙂

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Special Sides and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

