Peanut Butter Chocolate Rice Crispy Treats

I’m actually kind of upset I made these, because now I know how simple rice crispy treats are to make. I have lovely memories of my Nana making these when I was little. I feel like none of these will ever really taste like her plain yummy summer afternoon treats, but let’s be honest here- how can something with chocolate and peanut butter not be good?

I made these for my coworkers who all seem to like these a lot when they are stocked in the break room. Today marks 5 years that I have been at my current company and I wanted to share something delicious with them as a way to say thanks! Hopefully they will like them (I bet they will!)

You will need

5 tbs butter, divided
1 bag marshmallows, mini work best but I had regular and it worked fine too
1/4 cup peanut butter
5 cups rice crispies
3 tablespoons toffee bits
1/2 cup chocolate morsels

In a large pot melt 4 tbs butter on low heat. Add marshmallows and stir until melted. Once almost uniform add peanut butter, stirring to combine.

20121015-075054.jpg

20121015-075111.jpg

Grease a 9 x 13″ pan with remaining butter and grease a spatula too while you are at it. Remove the mallow mixture from the heat and stir in the crispies and the toffee. Use the greased spatula to press the mixture into the baking dish.

20121015-075342.jpg

Next add the chips to a microwave safe bowl. You could do a double boiler but I am lazy, I don’t like to wait and I don’t like doing more dishes. Set your microwave to 50% heat- chocolate burns easily. Set the microwave for 3 minutes. After 1 minute, stir. Then stir about every 30 seconds. Mine were done just after 2 mins. Don’t go by how they look, they wont look melted until you stir them. Drizzle the pan with chocolate.

20121015-075631.jpg

Cover and let cool 2 hours or over night. Cut to the size you prefer. I made 15 squares, each is 170 calories… soo could be worse? 😉

20121015-075815.jpg

Sorry for the dark pictures, I should add I made these at 10 pm, haha.

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Just Desserts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

