Butternut Squash Alfredo Pasta Bake

Wow, this recipe came as a total accident. So much so… I only have pictures from the last half of the process. This was the product of a “what do I have on hand/ how can I use some CSA veggies and what can I make under 500 calories” situation. I pretty much scoured my pantry and came up with this. It was soo yummy and pretty easy. Halfway through I tasted the sauce and thought, crap maybe this *should* go on the blog! If you like butternut squash I think you will like it.

You will need:

2 cups cubed butternut squash
2 cups chicken stock
1 jar lite Alfredo sauce
1 cup water
Fresh cracked black pepper
8 oz sliced button mushrooms
4 cups Swiss shard, stems removed, torn into pieces
1/2 lb of large whole wheat pasta
1/4 cup bread crumbs
1/4 cup finely shredded reduced fat cheddar (I used Cabot)
Olive oil cooking spray

In a stock pot add the squash and stock and bring to a simmer for about 20 minutes or until squash is soft enough to mash. Add alfredo, put 1 cup of water in the jar, shake and add to the pot. Stir to mix. Use an immersion blender to purée the mixture into a smooth sauce. Or you could blend it in batches in a blender. Once blended add the mushrooms and then the chard.

20121001-221512.jpg

20121001-221531.jpg

I looove chard! If you don’t then spinach would work fine too.

Preheat the oven to 350. Let the sauce simmer on low while you cook pasta. I used whole wheat chiocciole for the pasta, it is a big curly tube pasta- it worked very well for this dish. Cook just under al dente since it will finish in the oven.

20121001-221834.jpg

Add the pasta to the sauce and stir to combine.

20121001-221938.jpg

Add pasta to a large casserole dish strayed with cooking spray. Spread crumbs evenly over top and then evenly spread cheese over the crumbs. Lightly spray the top cooking spray.

20121001-222202.jpg

20121001-222247.jpg

Bake in the oven for 30 minutes, until top is getting to be brown and cheese melts.

20121001-222405.jpg

20121001-222420.jpg

Serve hot with a little cracked pepper on top.

20121001-222517.jpg

I had a hard time not eating this whole pan. Thankfully it makes a lot and there are only 4 servings. 1 serving is just under 450 calories. I am already looking forward to leftovers tomorrow!

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Creative Casseroles, Pasta Perfect and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

