Pumpkin Gruyere Foccacia

When I found this recipe I was immediately daunted by the idea of making a yeast bread. I have never baked any type of bread before but a review of the recipe had a first time bread baker who said the hardest part was waiting between the steps. Knowing I had a cup of pumpkin I needed to use up I dove in head first and at the end of the process I couldn’t agree more with the reviewer. This was easy but a long process since you have to wait for the dough to rise… A few times. Seriously though this was delicious and makes a lot! This was adapted from cooking light so it is even healthy for you. Coming in at about 170 calories a piece, the recipe makes 2 loaves with 8 servings a loaf.

You will need:

3/4 cup warm water (100 degrees)
1/3 cup brown sugar
1 package dry yeast
3 1/4 cups flour plus more for kneading
3 tbs butter, melted
1 cup canned pumpkin purée (not the pie filling!)
1 tsp salt
3/4 cup grated gruyere- I used applewood smoked!
Cooking spray
1 tsp cornmeal
Chopped walnuts, if desired

Combine water, sugar and yeast in a bowl and let stand for 5 minutes. The yeast should get frothy (activated) in this time period.

Add 1 cup flour and butter, cover and let rise in a warm draft free place for 1/2 an hour.

20120930-212129.jpg

20120930-212258.jpg

In this time shred your cheese. Don’t get pre-shredded because that usually has flour in it to keep the shreds from clumping.

20120930-212431.jpg

Stir pumpkin and salt into the flour mixture until combined. Add the flour and half of the cheese until the dough forms.

20120930-212614.jpg

20120930-212638.jpg

On a floured surface turn put the dough, kneading until it is smooth and elastic- about 8 minutes. Add small amounts if flour as needed to prevent it from sticking to your hands. No more than 1/4 cup should be needed.

Place dough in a large bowl covered with cooking spray. Turn the dough to coat the top, cover and put back in the warm draft free location. Let the dough rise for 60 mins, it should double in size.

20120930-212915.jpg

20120930-212951.jpg

Once risen punch down the dough. Seriously, just give the dough a few good whacks. It will probably help you relieve some stress while also helping your bread come to it’s fullest potential. 🙂

20120930-213219.jpg

Cover and let the dough rise for 5 minutes. During this time sprinkle the cornmeal on a baking sheet and preheat the oven to 400. Then cut the dough in half and form 2 circular discs. They should each be about 8″ flat. Put them on the baking sheet and sprinkle on the cheese and a few tsps of chopped walnuts if you want. Press the toppings in a little and then spray with cooking spray and… Yes you guessed it cover and let rise. This is the last time, I promise! Just 20 minutes and your oven is preheating anyhow.

20120930-213600.jpg

The dough will not double in size this time. Bake in the oven for about 30 minutes or until the cheese is melted and the bottom has browned. If it looks like the cheese may burn you can shield the loaves with foil towards the end of baking.

20120930-213759.jpg

20120930-213826.jpg

I froze one loaf and served the other with a homemade tomato rice soup. I had a cold last week and this was the perfect pick me up meal.

20120930-213941.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Special Sides and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

