Rosti with Baked Eggs

In my CSA last week I had some turnips that I was looking to use up. The first thing that pops to mind when I hear turnips is definitely not a savory breakfast casserole, but lo and behold after scouring the Internet for recipes this is where I landed. I literally just finished savoring this meal when I knew I had to immediately post it in the blog. Don’t shy away from this because of turnips you can’t taste them under the delicious homefries, gruyere and eggs that really make this a special dish. Don’t believe me just look at this, how can you say no? And at just over 350 calories a serving you really shouldn’t pass this up!

20120929-143734.jpg

You will need:

5 oz 0% fat Greek yogurt ( I used Chobani)
1 tbs flour
15 oz frozen shredded potatoes, thawed
1/2 cup grated turnip
2.5 oz grated gruyere cheese (I used applewood smoked- mmm)
1 tbs melted margarine
1/8 cup chopped chives
Sprinkle is black pepper and nutmeg
1/2 tsp salt
Cooking spray
4 large eggs
More chives and cracked pepper for garnish

Preheat the oven to 400.

In a bowl mix together the yogurt a d flour.

20120929-144255.jpg

Next mix in the potatoes through nutmeg, stirring to combine.

20120929-144357.jpg

Spray an 8×8 pan with cooking spray and evenly spread potato mixture into the dish. Bake for 30 minuntes or until the tops starts to brown. Remove from oven. Use the back if a spoon to make 4 indentation into the casserole where you will break the eggs.

20120929-144542.jpg

Break an egg carefully into each pocket, making sure not to break the yolk.

20120929-144802.jpg

Bake for about 15 minutes or until eggs are at your desired doneness. I like mine a little runny. You should check on them after 10 minutes to gauge.

20120929-144926.jpg

As you can see 2 of mine went a little too long (for my taste, so keep an eye on them). Serve with cracked pepper and chives on top.

20120929-145038.jpg

20120929-145101.jpg

Also good with a heavy dousing of hot sauce… In my opinion 🙂

20120929-145137.jpg

This recipe was adapted from a Cooking Light recipe.

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Brunch and Breakfast and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rosti with Baked Eggs

  1. Ellie says:

    Sounds like Sunday morning to me- but I love your take on these recipes! Keep ’em coming!!!

Leave a Reply

