Lightened Up 5 Layer Mexican Dip

This past Friday I was lucky enough to be invited to see Florence and the Machine with my good friend Marco! We had decided in advance to tailgate a bit before the show and since we were meeting with a few friends I wanted to bring a crowd pleasing appetizer. This definitely fit the bill and was healthy to boot! It makes a lot, so you could always half the recipe if need be. Between this dip and an incredible performance I would say the night as a whole was a big success!

This dip has 5 parts, 3 are easy and the other 2 take some work. I’d say it’s definitely worth it though! The salsa and crema are amazing on their own, but when put together in this dip- MMM!

You will need:

Layer 1:
1 can fat free refried beans

Layer 2:
2 cups 0% fat Greek yogurt or lite sour cream
1/4 cup cilantro
1-2 limes
2-3 chipotle peppers in sauce

Layer 3:
5 Roma tomatoes, cored and diced
1/4 red onion minced
1/3 cup fat free feta cheese
2 tbs chopped cilantro
2 avocados, chopped
1 lime
1 tbs olive oil

Layer 4:
1 cup shredded lettuce

Layer 5:
1/4 cup diced Roma tomatoes

First you want to make the salsa (layer 3) since that will need about an hour to chill. Mix together the tomatoes, onion, cilantro, oil and feta. When you chop the avocado, squeeze the line onto it, this will keep it green and make the dip look nicer. Gently fold in the avocado and then refrigerate for at least an hour.

20120916-215625.jpg

Next up is layer 2, the crema! This is a chipotle lime crema and I love it on pretty much anything Mexican. It comes together super easy if you have an immersion blender, if not a food processor would work too!

20120916-220036.jpg

Blend together the yogurt, cilantro, juice if 1 lime and the peppers. Chipotle peppers are hot, so add between 1-3 depending on how spicy you want it. Remember you can always add more later, but you can’t take them out. Once blended taste and add more lime if needed.

20120916-220244.jpg

This made more than I needed for the dip, but it keeps in the fridge for a few days, just stir before using.

Now it is time to layer!

In a 10 x 7″ dish evenly spread the beans on the bottom.

20120916-220442.jpg

Next up, crema:

20120916-220520.jpg

Avocado feta salsa:

20120916-220553.jpg

Shredded lettuce:

20120916-220623.jpg

And tomatoes!

20120916-220654.jpg

Serve immediately or chill for a few hours. This is better when everything is fresh so you could always jut assemble right before an event if you prepare the components in advance. This was super yummy and hood for you. Use a hearty chip for dipping and enjoy!!

20120916-220908.jpg

20120916-220934.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Appealing Appetizers and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

