Broccoli and Summer Squash Casserole

Yesterday on break I was on the hunt for a recipe to use up the broccoli and summer squash from my CSA. Surprisingly, there were not many recipes that fit this bill. I did come across one recipe from Southern Living that looked good, but was laden with butter, mayo and cheese. This is my lightened up version and it was too good not to share! I had a strong desire to eat the whole pan, but stuck to one piece thanks to will power. This serves 6 and in my opinion makes a good breakfast, lunch or dinner! It also makes a great side dish too if you wanted meat with it or you could throw some ham in and I bet that would be yummy too!

You will need:

1 tbs white wine
1/2 white onion, chopped
1 head broccoli, chopped
2 summer squash, sliced
1/2 bell pepper, diced
Salt and pepper
6 eggs
1/2 cup no fat Greek yogurt
1 1/2 cups cheddar cheese
1 cup panko bread crumbs
Cooking spray

Preheat the oven to 375.

In a large pot in medium high heat add the wine and onions, cook for a few minutes then add broccoli.

20120912-074027.jpg

Add in squash and peppers and turn heat to medium and cover, letting steam for a few minutes. One cooked, cut the heat and set aside for a few minutes to cool a bit.

20120912-074131.jpg

In a bowl whisk together 6 eggs and Greek yogurt. Add cheddar cheese and egg mixture to veggies, stirring to combine. Pour into a casserole dish that has been sprayed with cooking spray. Evenly sprinkle panko on top and then spray with olive oil mister.

20120912-074459.jpg

Bake in the oven for around 30 minutes or until cooked through and top is beginning to brown.

20120912-074605.jpg

Serve hot on it’s own or as a side dish. This was packed with veggies and flavor!

20120912-074738.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Special Sides and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

