Spicy Bacon Cheddar Chive Corn Muffins

Wow, how long has it been since my last post??? 3 weeks maybe, boy how time gets away from you sometimes! The end up the summer had a lot if travels for me and while I was cooking, I was not taking many pictures of my food nor (obviously) taking the time to post! But I’m back, I’ve been coming up with some great new ideas and here is a post that came out quite well!

This is adapted from a cooking light recipe that I saw online. Now that we are approaching fall my CSA this week is having the perfect combo of ingredients for some nice chili and I wanted to make something in advance to serve with it. This is a big step for me since usually I would just try to make like 4 things at once and stay up til 11 pm cooking and cleaning the day of my CSA pickup, but now I already have my muffins and just need to make the chili Monday.

For this recipe you will need:

1 cup flour (I used whole wheat flour)
3/4 cup yellow cornmeal
1/2 cup shredded cheddar
2 tbs sugar
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp cumin
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 cup chopped bacon
2 tbs chives, chopped
1 jalapeño, minced
1 egg, lightly beaten
1 1/4 cups buttermilk
1/4 cup veggie oil
1 jalapeño, cut into 12 thin slices for garnish
12 muffin liners
Cooking spray

Preheat the oven to 375.

20120908-154528.jpg

In a large bowl mix together flour and next 10 ingredients through jalapeño. Make a well in the center.

20120908-154735.jpg

In a separate bowl lightly beat and egg then mix together the buttermilk and oil. Pour this mix into the dry bowl and stir just until combined, do not overmix.

20120908-154933.jpg

Line a muffin tin and spray with cooking spray. Pour the batter as equally as you can between the cups. Place one slice of jalapeño on top of each muffin, as desired.

20120908-155236.jpg

Bake in the oven for 15 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

20120908-155324.jpg

20120908-155343.jpg

These go great with soup or on their own. I had one for breakfast this am and it was guilt free, since they are only 160 calories 🙂

20120908-155556.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Special Sides. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

