Pork Chops in Homemade Tomato Sauce over Corn and Cubanelle Risotto

This sounds labor intensive and let me tell you- it was! It came out absolutely delicious, but homemade tomato sauce is never a quick task. This is definitely a meal to be prepared on a Sunday afternoon (not Monday night, like I did- dinner at 10pm anyone?? Haha). Homemade tomato sauce is wonderful and yields a lot. I made this for pork chops but it is good in so many applications (hopefully more to come soon!)

You will need:

3-4 lbs tomatoes
4 tbs oil, divided
1 small onion, diced
3 cloves crushed garlic
1 small green pepper, diced
1 carrot, finely diced
1/4 cup red wine
1 tsp dried oregano
1 tsp dried basil
2 tbs tomato paste
1 lb boneless pork chops
Salt and pepper

Boil some salted water in a large stock pot. Add tomatoes and boil for about 1 minute. Remove tomatoes from pot and run under cold water. Peel the skin off of the tomatoes.

20120814-234548.jpg

20120814-234604.jpg

Cut the tomatoes in half and squeeze over a bowl with a strainer in it. You want to squeeze out the seeds and let any juice strain through.

20120814-234719.jpg

Chop tomatoes as you see fit. I blend mine with an immersion blender but you may want to rough chop if you prefer chunky to smooth sauce. In a stick pot on medium heat add 2 tbs oil, onions and garlic. Sauté until fragrant, about 5 mins.

20120814-235339.jpg

Next add the peppers and carrots, sauté for another 5-7 minutes. Next add the tomatoes, wine, dried basil, dried oregano, 1/2 tsp salt and tomato paste.

20120814-235457.jpg

20120814-235514.jpg

Let the sauce simmer for 30-45 mins. After 30 mins I used my immersion blender to make the sauce more smooth. Once the sauce was the right consistency I added a package of mushrooms and let it simmer for another 10 mins. The mushrooms were not needed, but I always like them. Once the sauce was ready I preheated the oven to 350. I poured a bit of the sauce in the bottom of a casserole dish and then began my pork.

20120815-000422.jpg

Add 2 tbs oil to a skillet and heat on medium high. Add salt and pepper to both sides of the chops and add them to the skillet. Sear each side for about 4 minutes or until light golden color.

20120815-000637.jpg

20120815-000650.jpg

Add the chops to the casserole and then cover with more sauce. Put tin foil over the top and bake for 30 minutes.

20120815-000751.jpg

20120815-000808.jpg

As for the risotto, I made that while the sauce had been simmering and left it covered while I cooked the pork. It was super fresh and delicious, you will need:

2 tbs butter
2 tbs olive oil
1/2 an onion, diced
1/2 cup dry white wine (reisling is my dab for this dish.)
1 cup arborio rice
4 cups vegetable stock
Kernels from 2 ears of corn
1 cubanelle, diced
1/2 cup grated pecorino romano cheese
Fresh grated black pepper

First heat the butter and oil in a sauce pan over medium heat. Add onions and sauté until fragrant, about 3 minutes. Add rice and sauté for another few minutes. Next add the wine and stir until dissolved. Then add broth 3/4 cup at a time, letting the rice absorb all the liquid before adding the next 3/4 cup, while stirring constantly.

20120815-073117.jpg

Once you have about a cup of liquid left add the corn and diced cubanelle. Add the broth and stir until dissolved. At this point the grain should be pretty soft and have a nice thick sauce. Stir in the cheese and then turn off the heat.

20120815-073430.jpg

Serve the pork on top of a bed of risotto. I topped my chop with some of the extra grated pecorino cheese.

20120815-073617.jpg

20120815-073634.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Sunday Dinners and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

