BBQ Turkey Burgers with Pale Ale Potato Salad

I just got home from Maine yesterday morning and have had grilling on my mind. We had plenty of delicious food on the trip as usual but burgers have been crossing my thoughts more as summer comes to a close. These burgers feature ground turkey and honestly, I like them just as much as beef. I do love a regular burger but these are a bit healthier and still offer a lot of flavor! They pair well with this potato salad that has a nice light bodied dressing and is a little different from the heavy mayo potato salads you may be used to.

For the burgers you will need:

20 oz. of lean ground turkey
1/4 cup finely diced onion
2 tbs bread crumbs
3 tbs BBQ sauce
2 tbs spicy brown mustard
1/4 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp chili powder
1/4 tsp salt

20120813-074926.jpg

In a bowl combine all the ingredients and mix until combined. Try not to overmix the meat. Form a patty in your hand and press down a little in the middle, this help keep the burger an even size during cooking. This mixture should make 4-5 burgers. Now you can grill the burger, and it would take about 7 mins per side or you could pan sear it on medium high for about the same time. I chose the pan method as it was raining- boo!

20120813-075443.jpg

When the burgers are almost done you can add some cheddar cheese on top. I won’t tell you what my decision was…

20120813-080502.jpg

Now onto the potato salad! This is pretty easy with relatively few ingredients, you will need:

3 lbs Red potatoes
1/4 cup chopped scallions
4 strips of bacon chopped orrr if you want to cheat buy some pre-chopped bacon at the store (real bacon not those Baco things!)
3/4 cup gorgonzola cheese
1/4 cup pale ale
2 tbs light mayo
2 tsp mustard
A shake of hot sauce
1/4 tsp garlic powder
Black pepper to taste

Wash the potatoes and chop them into cubes. Add them to a pot of cold salted water and bring to a boil. Once boiling immediately set a timer for 15 minutes. You want the potatoes to be fork tender but not falling apart. Check them after 10 minutes to be sure, the size of the cubes could make them take longer or shorter to cook. Drain and rinse with cool water.

In a separate bowl mix beer, mayo, mustard, hot sauce, garlic powder and pepper.

20120813-095144.jpg

Mix together the cooked potatoes, bacon, scallions, gorgonzola and dressing. Chill in the fridge for at least 2 hours before serving.

20120813-095606.jpg

Serve the burger with BBQ sauce and your favorite toppings, I just used lettuce and a 7 grain roll.

20120813-095754.jpg

20120813-095829.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Sunday Dinners. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

