Thai Green Curry Stuffed Peppers

Yesterday’s CSA pickup may have been my favorite one to date! There were a bounty of peppers, corn, tomatoes, scallions… Just see for yourself:

20120807-072617.jpg

The woman at the pickup even threw in 4 peaches… Still not sure what to do with those yet! I wanted to use as many veggies as possible and had intended to make stuffed tomatoes, but I had way more peppers and they were the proper size for stuffing. I had this Thai green curry sauce that I had picked up from Trader Joes and it was just fantastic in this!! I suggest using that but of course a homemade or other brand of sauce would work too.

You will need:

1 lb lean ground turkey
4 tbs olive or vegetable oil, divided
6 cloves of garlic, minced
1/2 small white onion, diced
2 cousa squash or 1 zucchini, diced
Kernels from 2 ears of corn
1 cubanelle pepper, diced
1 jalapeño pepper, minced
3/4 cup chopped scallion
1 jar Thai green curry sauce
1 cup cooked brown rice
4-6 bell peppers

20120807-073540.jpg

Preheat the oven to 375.

In a high rimmed skillet / large sauce pan on medium high heat add 2 tbs of oil. Salt and pepper the turkey meat and then add it to the pan, crumbling as it browns. Once it is mostly cooked through use a spoon to adds the meat to a bowl and set aside.

Add the other 2 tbs of oil to the pan and turn the heat down to medium. Add the garlic and sauté until fragrant, being careful to stir often to avoid burning. Add onion and sauté for 3 minutes. Next add corn, squash, diced peppers and scallion.

20120807-074034.jpg

Next add the turkey back to the pan and add the sauce. Stir to combine an then add in the brown rice.

20120807-074259.jpg

Let simmer on low heat while you prepare the peppers. Cut the tops off of the peppers and pull out and seeds / excess membrane from the inside. Add the peppers to a microwave safe dish and cover with plastic wrap. Nuke the peppers for 3 minutes. Remove them from the microwave and pour out any water from the inside. Now they are ready for stuffing!

20120807-074621.jpg

I know this way seems strange but otherwise the peppers take an hour to cook and this way cuts out 40 minutes. Since the stuffing is already cooked, it makes sense to have the peppers partially cooked as well. Stuff the peppers with the turkey mixture, if you haven’t already eaten it all because it is super delicious and could make a fine meal in it’s own!

20120807-074843.jpg

Bake for 20 minutes and serve hot.

20120807-075011.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Sunday Dinners and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

