Seared Flank Steak with Light Lemon Horseradish Cream with Corn and Goat Cheese Grits

I know that usually when I write a post I make you scroll all the way to the bottom before seeing the finished product. However, this post will be long and I need you to know- it’s worth it. So here we have last nights dinner:

20120731-072633.jpg

This steak was adapted from a cooking light recipe, the grits were basically an idea I came up with from what I had on hand and the roasted turnips an sweet potatoes were because I wanted to use up the turnips from my CSA. So there we have it, deliciousness embodied, haha. Now let’s get cooking!

This meal was created in quite a few steps, first being the prep work. I peeled and diced the sweet potatoes and turnips, then shucked the corn and cut off the kernels from 2 cobs. For roasting the potatoes and turnips I simply tossed them in garlic oil and seasoned with pepper and salt. Then bake them in a 400 degree oven for 30-40 minutes turning halfway through. The grits and steak cook quick so I would start with roasting these veggies. They should be done when they are golden brown.

20120731-073439.jpg20120731-073512.jpg

Next on to the grits! You will need:

3 cups low sodium chicken broth
1 cups quick cooking grits
Corn kernels from 2 cobs
3/4 cup goat cheese crumbles
Salt and pepper to taste
Chives for garnish

Grits are come together pretty quick when you get the fast cooking ones. I made these once the veggies were in the oven and kept them covered while I made the steak. First bring the broth with the corn to a boil in a medium sauce pan.

20120731-074025.jpg20120731-074105.jpg

Add in grits and turn heat to low. Stirring regularly let cook for about 5 minutes. The grits will absorb the liquid pretty fast.

20120731-074211.jpg

Cut the heat and add the goat cheese. Stir just until combined and take a bite, adjust seasoning with salt and pepper as needed. Then cover and let sit for at least a few minutes before serving. I put chives on mine, but thinly sliced scallions could also work too.

20120731-074334.jpg

Last up, the star if the show, pan seared flank steak. This was so easy and delicious. The seasonings on the steak are minimal, but the sauce really makes this delicious. (We all know how I feel about sauce, really good. Plus this is spicy- double win!)

You will need:

1 lb flank steak
Salt and pepper
Cooking spray
1/2 cup low fat Greek yogurt
1 tbs light mayo
2 tbs Dijon
1 tbs prepared horseradish or horseradish cream (I used the latter… Maybe more than a tbs, haha)
1 tbs chopped chives
1 tbs chopped parsley
Juice of 1 lemon about 3 tbs

Heat a skillet over medium high heat. Add cooking spray. Season both sides of the steak with salt and pepper. I used smoked salt, but you don’t need it, regular works well too! Add the steak to the pan.

20120731-075027.jpg

Cook each side for about 5-6 minutes for medium rare or longer as desired. While the steak cooks whip up the sauce.

20120731-080308.jpg

Mix together the yogurt, mayo, Dijon, horseradish, chives and parsley. Squeeze one half of a lemon into the mix, stir and taste. I used a whole lemon but depending how juicy it is or how much lemon you like, you could use more or less than I did. Add and pepper to taste.

By the time this is complete your steak should be nicely seared on both sides.

20120731-081306.jpg

Remove the steak from the pan and tent in foil on a cutting board. Let it rest for 5-10 minutes so the juice can redistribute. Cutting too soon will make all the juices run onto the board, leaving a mess and dry steak. Slice it against the grain and serve with 2 tbs of sauce.

20120731-081612.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Sunday Dinners and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

