Parmesan Roasted Summer Squash and Zucchini

‘Tis the season for delicious summertime squash! In my CSA this week I got 3 lovely squashes, 2 zucchini and 1 summer. This is a take in a grill recipe my friend Jill introduced me to a few years ago in Maine. I honestly didn’t even think I liked either of these types of squash until I tried her recipe! Mine is made in the oven but you can grill this in a foil packet as well (which was how she did it). Either way this is delicious and sure to be a summer time hit!

You will need:

1 large zucchini
1 large summer squash
Olive oil
Grated Parmesan
Salt and pepper

Sorry there are no measurements here, it really depends on how much squash you have. This is easy enough to eyeball. I made it with lemon pepper chicken. For the chicken I rubbed lemon pepper seasoning on thin chicken cutlets and cooked them in a pan with a little vegetable oil. I made them in a few batches.

20120708-194107.jpg

20120708-194121.jpg

For the squash, preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Slice them about 1/4″ thick and line them on a greased baking sheet. I used a 12″x17″ pan. I also added 4 quartered buttons mushrooms (as you may know- I looove mushrooms!!)

20120708-194342.jpg

Then drizzle them with a little olive oil and add a little salt and pepper to your preferences. Since there is Parmesan involved you shouldn’t need much salt. If you like you dishes less salty I would say don’t add any. Sprinkle a bit of parm on each slice. I probably used about 1/4 cup of Parmesan.

20120708-194856.jpg

Roast the squash in the oven for 15-20 minutes. The cheese should be starting to turn golden.

20120708-195139.jpg

Serve warm. I served the dish with some Dijon to dip the chicken in.

20120708-195252.jpg

20120708-195322.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Special Sides and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

