Couscous Tabouleh

Tabouleh is something that I have always wanted to try. This isn’t exactly a traditional recipe, as it is made with couscous instead of bulgar and has less herbs. I may have also thrown in a few things based in my personal tastes, ie serrano pepper (can’t live without a little spice!) It’s close enough though and delicious nonetheless! I hope you enjoy it too!

You will need:
2 cups couscous
2 cups vegetable broth
1 cucumber, seeded and diced
1 tomato, seeded and diced
1 small bell pepper, diced
1 serrano pepper, minced
1 two oz can of diced black olives
3/4 cup feta cheese
1 tbs chopped fresh mint
6 tbs olive oil
1 lemon, juiced
Salt and pepper to taste

20120704-224531.jpg

First cook the couscous, I used whole wheat. Usually couscous is like rice, with a 1:1 ratio of broth to grain, but check your package instructions. You can cook it in water which the box probably instructs but you get so much more flavor when cooking with broth instead. Once the couscous is cooked- fluff and set aside to cool.

Next chop all your vegetables and add them to a large bowl. I added Serrano pepper to this for a little kick, if you don’t like spice leave it out.

20120705-072454.jpg

In a small bowl whisk together olive oil and the juice of a lemon. Chop up some mint and add it to the dressing. (My CSA had a grab bag of herbs in it this week, one of which I thought was mint and just threw in, turns out it was sage haha oops!! We all make mistakes right? Thankfully the dish was still good, whew!)

Add the couscous to the veggies and pour the dressing on top stirring to combine. The couscous pretty much will immediately absorb all the dressing. If you want the salad to be more dressed you can make another batch and toss it in right before serving. I thought it was good without any extra though. Chill for at least 15 minutes in the fridge before serving.

20120705-073031.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Appealing Appetizers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

