Creamy Gruyere and Swiss Chard Pasta Bake

Yesterday I picked up my CSA with the intention of making this dish. When I got to the pickup I was the last person to get my share. They have a box of extra items where you can swap out an item you don’t like / need for a different item that may be in the box. Since I knew I needed more chard for this I swapped out some green leaf lettuce. Immediately the man providing the shares said “No, no, you want that lettuce- take it back” so I advised I swapped it per instructions for what I needed. He said “no, no, you can have it! And how about some peas and more garlic scapes?? You need anything else?” I declined knowing I shouldn’t take more than I could use, but I was glad to have my lettuce back and the chard I needed for this recipe.

Honestly, this recipe came from just an idea I had when I saw the ingredients in the box and remembered I had gruyere in my fridge already. This was creamy and delicious and came together nicely. I am excited to have leftovers at lunch today, hopefully it reheats well!

You will need:

4 cups of chard, washed, de-stemmed and cut into bite size pieces
1 bunch of scallions, chopped (about 1/2 a cup)
3 garlic scapes, chopped
5-6 button mushrooms, cleaned and diced
2 serrano peppers, thinly sliced
1 tbs oil
1/4 cup white wine, I used pinot
2 tbs butter
1 tbs flour
1 1/2 cups milk or light cream
1 1/2 – 2 cups fresh grated gruyere cheese
2 cups small pasta, I used oreciette
Salt and pepper to taste

20120703-074049.jpg

First prep all your veggies. In a large pot add water and salt and bring to a boil for the pasta. While that comes to a boil cook your veggies. First add oil to a large skillet, preferably one with a high rim. Add the mushrooms, the wine and a little salt and pepper Once the mushrooms have cooked add the peppers, scallions and scapes.

20120703-074332.jpg

Next add the chard and sauté until wilted.

20120703-074527.jpg20120703-074551.jpg

By now your water should be boiling, add pasta and cook 1 minute less than the time stated on the package for al dente. At this time you can also preheat the oven to 350.

Next up is the cheese sauce. Shred the gruyere and get the other ingredients out and ready, this sauce will come together pretty quick. I let my pasta finish boiling before I started, I drained it and added it to the veggies before making the sauce.

20120703-074913.jpg

Add butter to a sauce pan and melt. Sprinkle flour on top and stir continuously. Once the mixture is foamy and all the butter is melted, you can add the milk.

20120703-075213.jpg

Stir continuously after the milk is poured in. The sauce will begin to thicken. Once it gets to the consistency where it is coating your spoon add in the cheese and a little cracked black pepper, stirring until it is all melted and you have a uniform cheese sauce.

20120703-075443.jpg

Add the sauce to the pasta veggie mixture and pour into a medium casserole pan.

20120703-075629.jpg20120703-075643.jpg

I added some buttered bread crumbs to the top of mine but some extra shredded cheese would have worked too! Bake in the oven for 20 minutes or until the top is golden brown.

20120703-080635.jpg

Serve hot, pairs well with whatever wine you used in the dish. 😉

20120703-080814.jpg

20120703-080827.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Creative Casseroles and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

