Barbecue Chicken Wonton Tacos

Yesterday I was graced with the presence of my good friend Charlotte for lunch. She is into healthy eating and wanted something on the lighter side. So off I went scouring the Internet for ideas. This is an adaptation to a Hungry Girl recipe and it turned out pretty darn good! (If I do say so myself.) You will need:

1 package of Wonton wrappers (found in the produce section)
1/4 cup BBQ sauce I used Annie’s organic chipotle
1/4 cup lite ranch
1- 1 1/2 cup packaged coleslaw (just the cabbage mixture not with dressing in it)
1 lb boneless skinless chicken breast
Cilantro for garnish

First preheat your oven to 400. Boil some water in a stock pot. Add chicken and boil 15 min. Turn the heat down to medium and simmer 10 more min. Take chicken out of the bath and let sit for a few minutes. Then shred with 2 forks and add BBQ sauce.

20120630-122821.jpg

20120630-122836.jpg

Next up add the ranch to the coleslaw mix. You might be asking how does ranch show up in a healthy recipe? I found this amazing ranch dressing in the produce section! It is made with yogurt but tastes like the full fat version- seriously! Usually I get RF but it always lacks flavor or the consistency is weird but this is perfect!! 45 calories for 2 tbs!

20120630-123119.jpg

Next spray cooking spray on a muffin tin and press 1 Wonton wrapper in each cup. Bake for about 4-5 minutes until the edges are golden brown.

20120630-123318.jpg

20120630-123330.jpg

Once the cups are cool enough to handle put in the BBQ chicken, the ranch coleslaw and then top with cilantro! These were soo good we ended up having all 12 that came out of the tin haha. The best thing is you can keep making the shells as needed. I hope you like this as much as we did!

20120630-123537.jpg

20120630-123551.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Appealing Appetizers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

