Chipotle Turkey, Spinach and Leek Meatloaf

The idea for this dish came to me last night when I was in my apartment at sweltering degrees and decided that maybe cooking turkey burgers on my indoor grill was a bad idea. I already had all the ingredients though and definitely needed to cook something so I could not only have dinner but also have lunch tomorrow. Then it hit me that meatloaf, while still involving my oven, would be an excellent new plan! At least I didn’t have to stand over direct heat for a long time and stand in my 82 degree kitchen more than desired. So off I went a little of this a little of that and here we have it, delicious chipotle turkey, spinach and leek meatloaf!

20120625-073505.jpg

You will need:

1 small leek, chopped and rinsed
2 cups greens, I used spinach and turnip greens
2 tbs garlic olive oil, divided
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp cracked black pepper
1 lb ground turkey
1/2 cup bread crumbs
1/3 cup chipotle BBQ sauce
1 tbs mustard
1 egg

Preheat the oven to 350. In a skillet add 1 tbs garlic oil over medium heat. If you don’t have this, 1 clove of crushed garlic with 1 tbs oil would work too. I like the oil because it is not too powerful and you don’t have to worry about getting 1 bite with a lot more garlic. Add the leeks to the pan and sauté for 1-2 minutes. Add greens and sauté until wilted and bright about another 2 minutes.

20120625-074049.jpg

20120625-074110.jpg

I’m a mixing bowl add the sautéed veggies along with all of the other ingredients, stirring to combine.

20120625-074308.jpg

20120625-074344.jpg

Add mixture to a greased 1 quart baking pan. If you don’t have one you could add foil to a baking sheet and mold the loaf onto the center of the pan. Brush BBQ sauce over the top as desired. I used Annie’s chipotle BBQ sauce with great results- I found it in the organic section of my grocery store.

20120625-074628.jpg

Someone else was hoping for some meatloaf, despite having just been fed!

20120625-074724.jpg

Bake in the oven for 40-45 minutes. If you have a meat thermometer the center should read 170. I didn’t put foil over mine, I like the top to get kind of dark, you could cover yours if you want or brush on more sauce as it cooks.

20120625-074915.jpg

I served mine up with a little extra sauce on the side with some quickly sautéed bell peppers and bok choy with garlic and oil.

20120625-075102.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Sunday Dinners and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

