Roasted Asparagus, Red Pepper and Sausage Strata

This weekend I am in Philadelphia visiting with some friends from college. Whenever I go away whether a weekend or a week, I always seem to spend twice what I plan to. In an effort to curb spending, while still having fun and eating well, I decided making a strata would be the perfect breakfast that just keeps on giving. Making this ahead of time is what makes this dish a winner- just make sure you are available in the morning to let it sit for 1/2 an hour before baking. It serves about 6-8 people depending on how hungry they are! And can be reheated if you don’t eat it all the first morning.

You will need:

5 English muffins (we used whole wheat)
1 lb asparagus
1 tbs olive oil
1 red pepper
1 lb sausage or sausage substitute
10 eggs
1/4 cup milk
1/2 tsp salt
Black pepper
1/2 tsp dried basil
1/2 tsp chili pepper flakes (as desired)
1 – 1 1/2 cups cheddar jack cheese

Preheat the oven to 400. Trim the bottoms off of the asparagus. Add them to a baking pan and drizzle with olive oil, sprinkle with salt and pepper, toss to coat. Bake asparagus in the oven for 5 minutes.

20120616-111744.jpg

Cut English muffins in half and toast. Add the toasted English muffins to the bottom of a greased 9×13″ baking dish. Cut some of the english muffins to fit the pan so the bottom is completely covered.

20120616-112452.jpg

Arrange the asparagus on top of the English muffins.

20120616-112615.jpg

Next cook up some ground sausage or sausage substitute. My friends are vegetarian so we used Smart Sausage, which was actually very good! Crumble the sausage as it cooks and then evenly spread it over the asparagus.

20120616-113157.jpg

20120616-113223.jpg

Next sprinkle the top with diced red pepper. In a bowl add the eggs, milk, salt, pepper, basil and chili flakes (if you like a kick!) whisk until combined and then evenly pour over the top of the casserole. Cover and refrigerate over night.

20120616-113459.jpg

The next morning take the casserole out and let it sit on the counter for 30 minutes. Preheat the oven to 375. Evenly spread shredded cheese over the top of the casserole, 1 to 1 1/2 cups should do the trick depending on how much cheese you like.

20120616-113922.jpg

Bake in the oven for 40 minutes. Let sit for 10 minutes before serving.

20120616-114153.jpg

20120616-114240.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Creative Casseroles and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

