Ground Turkey and Spinach Lasagna

Two posts in two days- I’m on a roll! Or I’m going on vacation again this weekend and wanted to get some more cooking in, either way it’s a good thing all around. If you read my post from yesterday you will know I have some garlic scape, chive and arugula pesto leftover in my fridge. In a revelation during a gchat discussion with Sean I decided to make lasagna and use some of the pesto in the ricotta. While time consuming, making lasagna is not hard and in my opinion, is always worth the wait.

You will need:

1 box of lasagna noodles
1 tbs olive oil
1 lb of ground turkey
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp black pepper
4 oz button mushrooms, chopped
1 13 oz can diced tomatoes
1 jar of your favorite tomato sauce
1 1/2 cups (packed) spinach
1 15oz container skim ricotta
4 teaspoons pesto
1 egg
1/3 cup grated parmesano reggiano cheese
8 oz part skim shredded mozzarella cheese

20120613-080756.jpg

In a stock pot bring some salted water to a boil and preheat your oven to 375. While that heats add the oil to a large saucepan and cook the ground turkey, breaking into crumbles as it cooks. Once browned add the mushrooms.

20120613-081125.jpg

After this add the diced tomatoes and spinach, cooking until the spinach has wilted. Then add in the jar of sauce and continue to simmer on low heat.

20120613-081508.jpg

20120613-081527.jpg

By now your water should be boiling. Add the pasta and cook as package instructs. While the pasta cooks ad the ricotta, pesto, egg and Parmesan to a bowl, stirring to combine.

20120613-081832.jpg

Once the pasta is done I drain it and run the colander under cold water and separate any noodles that are stuck together. I also discard any broken noodles or give them to Sean to eat if he is around, haha. Some people like to lay the noodles out on a greased baking sheet, I just see that as one extra (big) dish to wash. If you assemble fast enough you should be fine. Otherwise the noodles might stick together and lose their shape.

Now onto assembly:

Add some sauce to the bottom of a 9×13″ baking dish.

20120613-082702.jpg

Layer noodles on top:

20120613-082736.jpg

My casserole can only hold 2 layers, so i spread half of the ricotta mixture on top of the noodles. If yours can fit three divide into thirds.

20120613-082955.jpg

Now a sprinkle of mozzarella, just a little the top gets the most.

20120613-083055.jpg

Top with sauce and then repeat: noodles, ricotta, mozzarella and sauce.

20120613-083203.jpg

Top the casserole with about 6 oz of shredded mozzarella and cover with foil.

20120613-083256.jpg

Bake in the preheated oven for 25 minutes, then remove foil and bake until the top is golden brown and bubbly about 20-25 more minutes.

20120613-100919.jpg

Let stand 10 minutes before serving. I had mine with a leafy salad.

20120613-101027.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Sunday Dinners and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

