Green Lentil Salad

It’s been a while since my last post, sorry for the delay! I have been cooking- there just has not been much time for me to post. This month I will be focusing on more healthy food. I am going on a lot of trips this summer so it is important for me to eat well while I am home. What better way to start than with a fresh tasting, healthy lentil salad!

You will need:

1 1/2 cups dried green lentils
4 tbs fresh lemon juice
2 tbs olive oil
1/2 tsp dried thyme
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp fresh cracked black pepper
1 clove crushed garlic
2 tomatoes, cored and diced
1 medium or 2 small cucumbers, diced
1/3 cup minced bell pepper
1/4 cup sliced black olives
1 cup crumbled feta cheese

20120603-160712.jpg

Add the lentils to a medium sauce pan and cover with about 2 inches water. Bring the lentils to a boil and then cover and reduce to a simmer. Cook for 20-25 minutes or until tender.

20120603-160844.jpg

Next chop all the vegetables and add them to a large bowl with the feta cheese. In a small bowl stir together the lemon juice, oil, thyme, salt, pepper and garlic. Stir the dressing into the bowl. Drain and rinse the lentils in cool water, then stir them in as well.

20120603-161310.jpg

20120603-161328.jpg

This salad is super easy, healthy and delicious! It is best chilled and can be served in lettuce cups or pita pockets!

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Special Sides and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

