Chicken Curry

This week I decided to spice it up a bit! Chicken curry is a great dish, when made correctly. Too many or few spices can make the dish so-so. I thought this was just right. This is a warming and hearty dish, perfect for a rainy night like last night.

This particular dish calls for onion, carrot, Swiss chard and mushrooms, but you can get creative or omit certain veggies with ease. I had a bit of trouble finding good Swiss chard at the market Sunday. The only bunch they had was wilting and bruised- no thank you. Luckily, I went back last night and snagged the last good looking bunch.

After what seems to be the millionth upset in the produce section of my local grocer, I have decided to invest in a share from a local CSA (community shared agriculture) farm. This means once a week I get a cut of their produce, made up in a box based on what is fresh. So don’t be surprised to see some new vegetables in my dishes soon. And I’ll be happy not to have to go scouting for undamaged goods! Anyhow I digress, back to the recipe!

You will need:

1 lb chicken breasts, sliced
1 tbs corn starch
1 tbs olive oil
1 cup onion, diced
1 1/2 cups low sodium chicken broth (make sure to get GF, many broths are made on machine that process wheat)
1 cup lite coconut milk
1 tbs tomato paste (del Monte brand should be GF, but always check the label to be sure)
1 cup chopped baby carrots
1 tsp curry powder
2 tsp cumin
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4-1/2 tsp red pepper (based on how spicy you like it)
4 oz sliced white mushrooms
4 cups Swiss chard, cut into pieces
Salt as needed
Cooked brown rice for serving

First do all your prep work, chop the carrots and onions (and mushrooms if you don’t get pre-sliced.) Wash the chard cut out the stem and tear into about 1″x1″ pieces. Slice the chicken and set aside is a separate bowl- add in 1 tbs of corn starch stirring to coat.

20120522-074431.jpg

In a large skillet add 1 tbs olive oil and heat on medium high. Add the onion and cook for 2 minutes. Ad in the cornstarch coated chicken and sauté until browned about 4 minutes.

20120522-074701.jpg

20120522-074732.jpg

Next add in the broth, coconut milk and tomato paste, stirring to combine and turn the heat down to medium. Stir in the spices, carrots, mushrooms and Swiss chard. Let simmer for about 5 minutes.

20120522-075149.jpg

Now I would suggest tasting the sauce for seasoning. I didn’t need much salt- just a pinch literally. But based on your broth you may need more. I served this on a bed of brown rice.

20120522-075403.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Sunday Dinners and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

