Gluten Free Southwestern Stuffed Peppers

Stuffed peppers are a favorite of mine. They are versatile and delicious. They also are generally GF- the theme of my blog this month! This recipe has a southwest flare with shredded beef, corn, rice and beans (brown rice that is!)

I was in the mood to cook (and blog haha) after finishing the book Julie & Julia last night. Stuffed peppers always work well for getting rid of leftovers in my fridge. I had pretty much everything on hand but the peppers themselves. This came together pretty quick and boy was it tasty!

You will need:

1/2 cup chopped mushrooms
1 can diced tomatoes (I used one with fennel and red pepper, but plain would work fine!)
1 1/2 cups shredded beef (I used leftovers that I had on hand, cooked ground beef or turkey would be a fine sub)
1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
1/2 cup corn
1 1/2 cups cooked brown rice
1/4 cup chopped chives or scallions
4 bell peppers
1/2 cup cheddar cheese

20120510-203501.jpg

Preheat the oven to 350.

In a 3 quart pan add mushrooms, diced tomatoes and the shredded beef and cook on medium heat. Once the mushrooms are soft add in the corn and drained beans.

20120510-203936.jpg

While that cooks cut the tops off your peppers and clean the insides of seeds and membrane. I like to cook my peppers in the microwave for 3-5 minutes under plastic wrap to get them soft before baking. Otherwise then can take forever in the oven and you can risk burnt cheese. If you don’t like a softer pepper you can skip that step.

20120510-204247.jpg

While your peppers are cooking (or should I say nuking?) add the rice and chives to the beef and bean mixture. Continue to let simmer while you pull out the peppers from the microwave.

You may notice I only used 3 peppers- this easily makes 4. I was going to do green bell pepper too but my local grocer did not have any that met my standards haha. So i said to heck with it and went with three.

20120510-204520.jpg

Once you take the peppers out of the microwave be sure to pour out any excess liquid that may have accumulated inside. Stuff each pepper until there is about 1/4 of an inch left at the top.

20120510-204650.jpg

Top each pepper with cheese and then bake in the oven for 20 minutes.

20120510-204744.jpg

The peppers are done when the cheese is melted and beginning to brown. I like to serve these in bowls due to any excess liquid. I also had mine with a little spicy sour cream (read: light sour cream mixed with hot sauce).

20120510-205041.jpg

20120510-205104.jpg

Annnnd a peek at the inside 🙂

20120510-205139.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Sunday Dinners and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

