Gluten Free Mexican Fiesta!

I may have gone a bit overboard for Cinco de Mayo this year. Maybe the blog is getting the best if me or maybe I just wanted to use that as an excuse to make 4 dishes for the event this year. We celebrated last night, officially dubbed Quatro de mayo, since I have a derby party to attend tonight. The dishes in this post were all easy and delicious. We started out with a snack of homemade tortilla chips, followed by an appetizer of cumin dusted shrimp with cilantro lime crema and for the main course shredded beef tacos and black bean corn salad.

Needless to say I was happy I skipped lunch yesterday. Sean and I immediately went into a food based coma afterwards while watching Archer, but were both quite pleased with the feast we indulged ourselves with.

First things first I had to start the beef in the slow cooker. You need:

1 2-3 pound top sirloin
1/2 cup red wine
1/2 cup water
1 onion, sliced
2 Jalapeños, minced
1 tsp chili powder
1 tsp black pepper
1 tsp salt
1 can Rotel

20120505-122831.jpg

Rub the pepper, salt and chili powder onto the beef. Add it to the slow cooker and pour the water and wine around it. Drop in the onions and Jalapeños. Cover an cook on low for 6-8 hours or on high for 4-5.

I had a little trouble getting to my slow cooker because someone was hoping they could get some beef…

20120505-125308.jpg

Since this takes so long to cook it was not surprising that I needed some additional dishes planned. This was a good decision on my part since I received this text from Sean at 4:30, “I am absurdly hungry… Just warning you.”

As such I preheated the oven to 400, while I cut some corn tortillas into 4 sections. I sprayed each side with a bit of cooking spray and sprinkled one side with a little salt. I evenly spread them on a baking sheet And baked for 5-10 minutes until crispy.

20120505-125814.jpg20120505-130012.jpg

Next up I prepared a delicious corn salad. This recipe has been Sean’s mothers go to recipe for a crowd pleasing summer side dish since I have met her. It is pretty easy and super delicious.

You will need:

3 cups fresh corn (I used 5 ears)
1/3 cup olive oil
2 tsp cumin
1 tsp oregano
2 garlic cloves, minced
1/2 cup water
1-3 Jalapeños
1 tsp salt
2 cans drained and rinsed black beans
2 tomatoes, cored and diced
1/4 cup cilantro, finely chopped
1/4 cup lime juice
1 tbs Dijon mustard

20120505-130733.jpg

First add 2 tbs oil to a 3-4 quart pan on medium heat. Add in the jalapeño, cumin, oregano and garlic. Let cook for a few minutes and then add in corn. Turn heat up to medium high and add in 1/2 cup water. Cover and cook for 2 minutes. Remove from heat and scrape corn mixture into a large bowl.

20120505-131102.jpg

Stir in salt and let cool down to about room temperature. Once cooled add in tomatoes, cilantro and black beans. In a separate bowl mix Dijon with lime juice. Slowly whisk in remaining olive oil and then stir the dressing into the salad.

20120505-131353.jpg

In my opinion this is good warm, but normally it is served cold. I chilled mine for about an hour or two in the fridge prior to serving.

For our appetizer I made cumin dusted shrimp with cilantro lime crema. It was surprisingly good. I love seafood and this was my kind of a Mexican take on shrimp cocktail. I will definitely be making this again!

You will need:

20 shrimp
1 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp thyme
1/4 tsp salt
A few shakes of black pepper
1 cup lite sour cream
1 1/2 tsp lime juice
1/4 cup finely chopped cilantro
1/4 tsp salt

20120505-131800.jpg

In a bowl mix together the shrimp, cumin, thyme, salt and a bit of black pepper. Cook the shrimp on medium heat, for about 3 minutes per side. If the shrimp were precooked, cook until heated throughout. In a separate bowl mix sour cream, lime juice, cilantro and salt. Serve the shrimp hot with the cool dipping sauce.

20120505-132316.jpg

Finally our wait was over. After preparing food all day (way better than going to work) I had 1 more step til dinner. The beef was done, so I remove the lid. I remove it from the pot and shredded it with 2 forks and added it back to the cooker with the juice. I opened a can of Rotel and stirred that in too.

20120505-132627.jpg

And now it was time to eat! Sean and Boots came running, only Boots was surprised to find he would not be dining with us. I did an assembly line for the tacos so we could take what we like. Hard shell and soft corn tortillas, lettuce, cheese, pico de gallo, crema and of course the shredded beef.

20120505-132922.jpg

We both had our fill and closed the night as a successful Cuatro de Mayo.

20120505-133304.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Special Occasions and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

