Gluten Free Coconut Layer Bars

As some of you may have heard, for the month of May my blog will be going Gluten Free! Recently I have had a few friends / coworkers diagnosed with Celiacs. I had not known much, if anything about gluten prior to last week, but have been reading articles left and right to see what gluten is all about. Some surprising things to me were that 1 in 133 people have some form of gluten intolerance, gluten is found outside of food products in cosmetics and even the sticky side of envelopes, and that gluten hides in a wide array of foods so label reading and research is imperative!

That being said, my first dive into GF was a successful one. This dish was simple and delicious. Thank god I had my smart phone on me or I probably would have bought way more things with worry about gluten, but I checked out everything before purchase and was good to go! This recipe was supposed to have butterscotch chips but I discovered half of the brands have gluten and all the brands at my local store did. I used toffee chips instead and was very happy with the results!

You will need:

10 oz. Flaked coconut
1 cup toffee bits
1 cup semi sweet chocolate chips
3/4 cup unsalted dry roasted peanuts
1 14 oz can sweetened condensed milk
1/4 cup sliced almonds

20120503-074534.jpg

Preheat the oven to 350.

Grease a 9 x 13″ baking pan with butter. Parchment paper may also be a good idea, I didn’t use it but these bars are pretty gooey / amazingly delicious. Press 2/3 of coconut evenly into the bottom of the pan. Top with toffee, then chocolate chips and then the peanuts.

20120503-074751.jpg

Pour the can of sweetened condensed milk evenly over the dish, operative word here people- try to be as even as you can!

20120503-074912.jpg

Top with more coconut, almond slivers and then a few more chocolate chips, if desired.

20120503-075015.jpg

Add the pan to the oven and bake for 20 minutes or until the top is golden brown and the almonds are nice and toasted.

20120503-075124.jpg

Let the bars cool completely. I let mine rest for about 2 hours. I then cut the bars but did nit remove then from the pan. I coverage then and refrigerated over night so they would set and not fall apart. This AM I cut then out of the pan and added them to a plate so I could take them to work.

20120503-075349.jpg

Let’s hope my friend Marco, whose birthday I made these for- likes them as much as I do!!

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Just Desserts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gluten Free Coconut Layer Bars

  1. kate says:

    I’m leaving you a comment here because I’m bored, love your blog and realized I’ve never left you a comment before! I loved the gluten free recipes! I have two really good friends in Buffalo who were recently diagnosed with celiac’s and I’ve learned a lot about it from one of them. I always am trying to find her recipes so I will pass these on to her!

    • annsley423 says:

      Yay! I didn’t know you had been reading my blog 🙂 I’m glad you like it! I will be posting GF recipes all May, we will see how it goes. Celiacs is really common and yet such a pain in the butt to go grocery shopping for! None of the packages say GF or not GF, if I didn’t have a smart phone I would be soo lost about which brands to buy
      haha.

Leave a Reply

