Tres Quesadillas

As some of you may or may not know, I absolutely love Mexican food! I could probably have it everyday and still not get sick of it. I was thinking about what to post for Cinco de Mayo and I began thinking about quesadillas, one of my favorite and easiest home made mexican influenced meals. Then I thought mmm I could eat them for breakfast, lunch and dinner! So that’s what I did!

This was over the course of a few days mind you, but still, this application is good for any time of day. The ingredients here are not strict by any means add onions, remove peppers, whatever. In the world of quesadillas anything goes- as you will soon see. To lay out what you are about to be offered we have the breakfast quesadilla which has an egg, sausage and veggies; the lunch quesadilla featuring mushrooms with herbs de provence and gruyere; and last (but certainly not least) dinner the pizza quesadilla with sauce mozzarella sausage and peppers!

The Breakfast Quesadilla: Sausage, Egg and Cheese

Not for the faint if heart or at least the small of stomach. This is a very filling breakfast more of a brunch type dish. These recipes are for 1 but it is easy to double, quadruple etc. Make the filling all together and then cook each dilla individually.

You will need:

1 burrito sized flour tortilla
1 egg
1 tsp milk or lite sour cream
1/4 tsp cumin
Few shakes of black pepper
1 tsp olive oil
1/8 tsp garlic powder
1/2 small bell pepper, diced
1/2 a cooked chicken sausage link, diced
1/2 cup cheddar cheese (reg or reduced fat works)

I served mine with some lite sour cream mixed with hot sauce but it is delicious plain too!

20120429-190041.jpg

Add oil to a small frying pan on medium heat, add sausage and peppers and cook for about 3 minutes. While that cooks beat together an egg, milk (or sour cream), cumin, pepper and garlic powder. Add egg to pan with pepper and sausage and cook until almost done. You want the egg set but not fully cooked, it can finish in the quesadilla.

20120429-190352.jpg

20120429-190407.jpg

Heat a large frying pan on medium- medium low heat. On a plate put a tortilla, top 1/2 of the tortilla with 1/4 cup cheese, add sausage mixture evenly on top, then add remaining cheese.

20120429-190606.jpg

20120429-190623.jpg

20120429-190637.jpg

Move the quesadilla to the dry preheated frying pan. Cook on eat side until golden brown and cheese is melted, about 3 mins per side.

20120429-190813.jpg

Cut in half and serve immediately.

20120429-190920.jpg

20120429-190935.jpg

Now that you get the idea if the process I don’t need to write it out as much for the next two. 🙂

Lunch Quesadilla: Mushroom and Gruyere

This was a new idea I came up with since I had some leftover gruyere I needed to use. If you don’t have it on hand, Swiss should work too.

You will need:

1 burrito sized flour tortilla
1 tbs olive oil
4 oz. sliced white mushrooms
1 tsp herbs de provence
1/2 cup shredded gruyere cheese

I served this with some Dijon mustard for dipping but didn’t use much, it was pretty good on it’s own!

First sauté the mushrooms and herbs in oil.

20120429-191551.jpg

Spread 1/4 cup cheese evenly across 1/2 if the tortilla, top with mushrooms and the remaining cheese. Fold over the uncovered half and add to a large frying pan on medium- medium low heat.

20120429-191807.jpg

Cook until golden brown on each side, around 3 minutes per side. Slice in have and serve immediately.

20120429-191909.jpg

Dinner Quesadilla: Sausage and Pepper Pizzadilla!

This was surprisingly good. I had never made this before but would certainly make it again in a heartbeat!

You will need:

1 burrito sized flour tortilla
2 tbs pizza sauce
1 tsp olive oil
2 cooked chicken sausage diced
1/2 small bell pepper, diced (I used a bit of red and yellow I had leftover)
1/4 cup part skim shredded mozzarella
1/4 cup shredded asiago

20120429-192429.jpg

In a small frying pan heat 1 tsp oil over medium heat. Add sausage and pepper and sauté for about 3 minutes to brown sausage.

20120429-192541.jpg

Spread sauce evenly across entire tortilla leaving about 1/4 inch border. Evenly spread cheese across tortilla. Add sausage mixture evenly to one half and then fold the other side over.

20120429-192723.jpg

20120429-192745.jpg

Cook in a large frying pan over medium – medium low heat until golden on each side an the cheese has melted. Cut in half and serve immediately. I served mine with some of the pizza sauce mixed with a little tobasco for dipping.

20120429-193026.jpg

20120429-193045.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Sunday Dinners and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

