White Sangria Recipe and Steak Tip Taste Test

This past Monday was my birthday so haven’t had much time to post this week. Celebration started last Friday when Sean and I decided to do a steak tip taste test. This consisted of me getting tips from my favorite butcher and him from the butcher near his place.

I don’t work Fridays generally so I was thinking about our upcoming feast that night and decided to make White sangria to accompany the meal. This is light, fruity and delicious.

You will need:
1 bottle of dry white wine
3-4 shots of Apple liquor
1 teaspoon sugar
2-3 granny smith apples
1 lemon
1 lime
1 small container of raspberries
1 bottle of lemon seltzer water

20120425-073458.jpg

In a jug or pitcher add in the wine (I used pinot) 3 shots of apple liquor, sugar, diced apples, sliced lemon and lime. (I also threw in a few of the raspberries for good measure but those are mainly for garnishing your glass.) Let the sangria refrigerate for at least 3-4 hours, but overnight is best.

20120425-073852.jpg

When ready to serve pour into a glass an top off with the seltzer water, drop in some berries and other fruit from the jug if desired.

20120425-074012.jpg

This went great with our steak dinner, of which my tips were the best. 😉 They were served alongside roasted asparagus: toss asparagus with garlic oil (or regular EVOO if you don’t have garlic oil) salt and pepper. Bake in the oven at 400 on a baking sheet for 10-15 minutes, flipping halfway through. And with sone gorgonzola pasta salad I had made a few nights prior.

20120425-074326.jpg

Let’s just say no one went hungry that night!

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Special Occasions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

