Chicken, Mushroom and Asparagus Pasta Bake

I meant to post this about 2 weeks ago but things got a little busy. This was thrown together on a whim when I made a big batch of lemon pepper chicken for a couscous salad (which I did post at the beginning of the month!) this had a light sauce and hearty veggies. I found some grilled and frozen asparagus at Trader Joes, but you could always grill or steam your own for the recipe.

You will need:

3/4 lb diced chicken
Lemon pepper seasoning
11 oz can diced tomatoes
8 oz pkg button mushrooms
6-8 stalks grilled asparagus, chopped
1 lb package campanile pasta
(Optional: 1 cup ricotta mixed with 4 oz thawed and drained spinach and 1/4 cup grated ricotta)
1 1/2 cups shredded mozzarella

20120416-073111.jpg

Preheat the oven to 350.

(I used some lemon pepper chicken I had from a previous recipe in this, all I did to make it was season the chicken with a lemon pepper grinder I have and cook it in a skillet with oil. Lemon pepper seasoning should be in the spice aisle.)

Boil water for the pasta in a stock pot. Heat a 3 quart sauce pan over medium heat and add in the diced tomatoes and mushrooms. Let simmer allowing the mushrooms to cook. I don’t like large chunks if tomato so I also used a spoon to break them down a little more. Once the mushrooms are cooked stir in the chicken and asparagus.

20120416-073729.jpg

Cook the pasta to about a minute before the package directions instruct for al dente pasta. Drain and add it to the sauce, mixing until everything is combined.

20120416-073855.jpg

Spoon half of the mixture into the bottom of a 10″x7″ baking dish. Add dollops of the ricotta mixture if desired. This would be good without it as well if you don’t like ricotta or spinach.

20120416-074047.jpg

Spoon remaining pasta mixture on top and cover with shredded mozzarella.

20120416-074135.jpg

Bake in the oven for 30-40 minutes or until top begins to turn golden and the edges get a little crispy.

20120416-074243.jpg

20120416-074314.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Creative Casseroles, Pasta Perfect. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

