Guinness Shepherd’s Pie

Mmm yes, you read that right, Guinness Shepherd’s Pie. Now that St. Patrick’s Day is nearly upon us I decided to whip up a favorite of mine. This is an easy and delicious meal, great for those who don’t like corned beef but want something Irish influenced (or beer influenced, haha) for the holiday.

This is a full meal in a casserole, Guinness gravy with ground beef, veggies, mashed potatoes and my favorite, cheese. It’s hard to go wrong. I like the added flavor of the beer in this, it is not overwhelming but you do notice it’s presence. I made this for some friends in Buffalo when I was visiting last weekend and they all seemed to enjoy it very much.

You will need:

3 lbs russet potatoes
1/2 stick of butter
1 clove crushed garlic
1/4- 1/2 cup milk
Salt and pepper to taste
1 1/2 lbs ground beef (I used 90/10)
1 bottle of Guinness
2 packets of brown gravy mix
1 cup water
1 lb frozen mixed vegetables (cooked in microwave per package instructions)
1-2 cups sharp cheddar, shredded

Preheat the oven to 375.

First make your mashed potatoes. Peel and cube the potatoes. Add potatoes to a stock pot and cover with water (add salt as desired). Bring the pot to a boil and let potatoes cook until fork tender. Mine are usually done after they have boiled for about 10 minutes or so (depending how big the potato chunks are.) Drain and add potatoes back to the stock pot to let extra moisture evaporate.

20120312-181059.jpg

Add potatoes to a medium bowl with the butter and garlic and begin mashing. I really like mashing potatoes with a masher, but a spoon or whisk could work too, just have to add a bit more elbow grease. Add milk as you mash until you get the consistency you want. Add salt and pepper to taste.

20120312-182141.jpg

Next brown the ground beef in a skillet on the stove. While you do this you can prepare the gravy. Make it according to the package directions but use beer for half of the water called for. Drain the beef and put it back in the skillet pouring the remainder of the bottle of beer in the pan and let it continue cooking. Once the gravy is done add it to the beef, stirring to combine. This will be the bottom layer. I used a 2 quart baking dish, this would be easy to make in a larger size if you double the ingredients.

20120312-182600.jpg

Next layer on the veggies. I used about half a 1 lb bag, but feel free to use more.

20120312-182907.jpg

Then spread the potatoes on top.

20120312-183022.jpg

Then sprinkle the top with cheese, I used a little more than a cup but depending on the shape of your dish you may need up to 2 cups. Bake in the preheated oven for 20 minutes. Remove from oven and let cool for about 5-10 minutes before serving.

20120312-183209.jpg

And what a great Sunday dinner it was, Laura was even gracious enough to set a lovely table for all of us!

20120312-183306.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Creative Casseroles and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

