Creamy Spinach and Mushroom Tortellini Soup

Sticking with my new theme of lunches on a budget, I came up with this idea for a hearty and filling soup. The ingredients in this cost me about $25, which translates to about 4.25 per bowl of soup. I did have a few ingredients on hand already, like olive oil, garlic, salt and pepper, but most people should have those already as well.

You will need:

2 tbs olive oil
1 lb ground chicken
Pinch of salt and pepper
1/2 tsp dried basil
1 8 oz. Package of sliced mushrooms
1 32 oz box of reduced sodium chicken broth.
2 packages of refrigerated tortellini (I used 1 mushroom and 1 spinach)
1 jar lite Alfredo sauce
1/2 cup light cream
1 package baby spinach

20120225-153927.jpg

Add olive oil to a stock pot or dutch oven on medium to medium high heat. add ground chicken and season with salt, pepper and basil. Break into crumbles as it cooks. Once heated through add mushrooms and broth. Cook for another 5 minutes.

20120225-154125.jpg

20120225-154253.jpg

Next add in the tortellini and Alfredo sauce. Put 1/2 cup of cream in empty alfredo jar add lid and shake to get excess sauce from sides, pour into the pot. Cook for another 5-7 minutes. Add in spinach in batches letting it wilt before adding more.

20120225-154453.jpg

Serve hot with grated parmesan cheese and cracked black pepper as desired.

20120225-154550.jpg

20120225-154610.jpg

20120225-154625.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Soups and stews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

