Chicken Korma with Cilantro Basmati Rice

This Sunday I decided to try making Indian food for the first time. We have amazing Indian restaurants in both Beverly and Salem, so the idea had never really crossed my mind to try it myself. Last time we went out for Indian the bill got pretty large, but since I had these spices all on hand the dish was not very expensive for me to make and will be a new stand by when I am in the mood for Indian.

20120220-074856.jpg

First boil 1/2 a cup of water and add 1/2 a cut of cashews and set aside. In a stock pot on medium heat add 1/4 cup oil and 2 bay leaves. Let cook for about 30 seconds before adding a chopped onion, cooking for 5 more minutes. Add in 1 tbs each of grated ginger, crushed garlic, coriander, turmeric, garam masala, cumin and hot chili powder. Stir in cubed chicken breast and let cook for another 5 minutes. This will coat the chicken in the delicious spices and begin the sear on the meat.

20120220-075520.jpg

Next pour in 2 cups chicken broth (I always use low sodium) and 1 can of tomato sauce. Mix in two diced potatoes and 2 chopped carrots. Turn the heat down a little and cover for 15 minutes.

20120220-075743.jpg

While the dish cooks, add the chopped nuts and water, 1 cup light cream and 1 cup plain yogurt to a food processor. (I added them to a bowl and used a hand blender which worked fine too.) pour the mixture into the pot and continue to let simmer uncovered for about 15-20 minutes.

20120220-080045.jpg

20120220-080104.jpg

While the dish simmered I made my rice. I used brown basmati rice and cooked as the package indicated. I used 2 cups of rice with 2 cups low sodium chicken stock, 2 cups water, 1 tsp garam masala and 1/2 tsp cayenne. Once the rice was done I fluffed it and stirred in about 1/2 a cup of chopped cilantro.

20120220-080449.jpg

In the last 5 minutes of simmering the dish I stirred in 1 tbs corn starch mixed with 1 tbs cold water. Once the desired thickness was reached I served it over my cilantro rice.

20120220-080622.jpg

20120220-080700.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Sunday Dinners and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

