BLE, Bacon Lettuce Egg Salad Sandwiches

I am sure we have all been in a place where you stretch yourself a little thin and need a lower cost meal option. This week was like that for me. I still wanted to cook and try something new, but with more of a strict budget in mind.

Egg salad is something new to me, I have never really gone out of my way to eat it and have never made it before. It utilized a lot of things I already had and made a lot, perfect for my wallet. You will need:

1 dozen eggs
1/2 cup low fat mayo
1 tbs Dijon mustard
2 tbs crumbled bacon (I used Hormel reduced fat, but you could make your own)
A few dashes of white vinegar to taste
Fresh cracked black pepper
Cayenne (as desired)
Lettuce (I used red leaf)
Wheat bread

First hard boil your eggs. I put mine in cold water and being to a boil. Once boiling I cut the heat, cover, and let sit for 20 minutes. Drain and run under cold water, if you let the cook to long the yolks can get a greyish tint. I then cracked and peeled them.

20120218-132027.jpg

After this I did a rough chop on all the eggs. I did reserved 2 of the cooked yolks for the dressing. in a separate bowl I mixed the mayo, dijon, bacon, vinegar and reserved yolks in a bowl. I sprinkled the top with cayenne and black pepper to taste.

20120218-132411.jpg

Then fold the dressing into the chopped eggs. I then covered it and let it chill in the fridge for a few hours.

20120218-132535.jpg

Once chilled I assembled my sandwich. I used a flax whole wheat bread, red leaf lettuce and the egg salad. It was tangy and delicious. This yields about 6 servings and cost me about $10 since I had all the condiments on hand.

20120218-132749.jpg

20120218-132808.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

