Teriyaki Chicken Recipe

12 boneless and skinless chicken thighs
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 cup reduced sodium soy sauce
1/2 cup cider vinegar
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1 tbs sambaal olek
1/4 tsp ground black pepper
2 cloves minced garlic
1 tbs cornstarch
1 tbs cold water
1/4 cup sliced scallions

Preheat the oven to 425.

In a sauce pan mix together sugar, brown sugar, soy sauce, vinegar, ginger, garlic, black pepper and sambaal olek. Turn the heat onto medium low and let it begin to simmer, stirring frequently. In a small bowl mix together corn starch and water and pour into the pot. Let simmer until sauce thickens. Separate sauce in half, reserving one half until later.

Brush sauce on both sides of each thigh and add it to a baking dish and cook in the oven. Baste the thighs every 10 minutes, flipping them after about 25-30 mins. Cook for about 40-50 minutes.

Plate the chicken thighs and pour the reserved sauce over them. Garnish with scallions as desired.

20120205-074937.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Teriyaki Chicken Recipe

  1. Eggton says:

    This looks perfect for a night when you want a tasty dinner that doesn’t take too long to prepare. I don’t have any sambaal olek — is it okay without it or does the taste really suffer if you leave it out? Would you suggest any substitutions? Cheers!

    • annsley423 says:

      It would be fine without it! That really just adds a bit of spice to the sauce. If you don’t like things with heat I would say leave it out, if you want some spice but do not have that on hand a pinch of red pepper flakes or cayenne pepper would certainly do the trick!

  2. Oh yum! I adore teriyaki chicken – great recipe.

Leave a Reply

