Homemade Chinese Food, Teriyaki Chicken and Veggie Fried Rice

Who doesn’t enjoy a great chinese food dinner? I find myself going to a local Chinese food restaurant probably a bit more often then I should and despite knowing the do not use MSG, I really have no idea what they do use to make their dishes so unbelievably tasty. This is probably a good thing. This weekend instead of ordering out or going to the restaurant, I made my own chinese dinner. Baked teriyaki chicken and cilantro vegetable fried rice!

I started off with my sauce for the chicken after preheating the oven to 425. I mixed sugar, brown sugar, reduced sodium soy sauce, sambaal olek (Asian chili sauce), ground ginger, black pepper and cider vinegar in a sauce pan. I cooked the sauce on medium, letting it simmer. I mixed together a little cornstarch and water and poured that into the sauce too. When the sauce had thickened I cut the heat and reserved half of it in a bowl for later.

20120205-081656.jpg

I used 12 boneless skinless chicken thighs for the dish. I brushed each side with the sauce and popped them in the oven, brushing them with sauce every 10 minutes and flipping then halfway through. They took about 45 minutes to cook.

20120205-081928.jpg

While the chicken was in the oven I made the fried rice. Earlier in the day I had cooked 2 cups of brown basmati rice and let it chill in the fridge. You can also use regular basmati or jasmine rice. It should be chilled before cooking though. This prevents the rice from over cooking and getting mushy.

In a wok or a large frying pan heat 2 tbs toasted sesame oil and 1 tbs vegetable oil. Stir in diced onion, diced carrots, minced Jalapeños, peas and garlic sautéing for a few minutes.

20120205-082946.jpg

After about 5 minutes add in the rice, soy sauce and hoisin sauce. You could use fish sauce instead of hoisin but I wanted the rice to be vegetarian. After a few more minutes cooking I stirred in cilantro, basil, scallions and some chopped scrambled eggs, letting it cook for just 1 more minute.

20120205-083327.jpg

When my chicken was done, I pulled it out of the oven and served it on a platter. I poured the reserved half of the sauce over the top and sprinkled with scallions.

20120205-083536.jpg

20120205-085837.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Sunday Dinners and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

