Slow Cooked Beef Stroganoff

I had never made stroganoff before my latest Sunday dinner, but my mom used to buy it from a specialty grocery store from my home town when i was growing up. I associate it with a cold winter day. This recipe is an easier slow cooker meal since nothing needs to be sautéed or seared before entering the pot. You will need:

1.5 lbs stewing beef
1/2 white onion cut into medium sized slices
8 oz cremini (baby bella) mushrooms

For the sauce:
1 11.5 oz can reduced sodium cream of mushroom soup
1/2 cup red wine (I didn’t have any and used sherry which turned out fine, white wine could work too but red is better with beef)
1/2 cup beef broth (I used low sodium)
2 cloves minced garlic
1 tablespoon dried chives
2 tsp worcestershire sauce
1/2 tsp black pepper
2 tsp flour
Salt to taste

1 cup light sour cream
4 oz light cream cheese

1/2 package of egg noodles (I used whole wheat)

20120131-074527.jpg

Add the beef to the bottom of your slow cooker, top with onion and then mushrooms. In a separate bowl mix together the sauce: soup, wine, broth, worcestershire, garlic, chives, black pepper, flour and salt. Pour sauce into the crock. Set on low for 6-7 hours.

20120131-075206.jpg

After 6 or so hours, remove the lid and stir in the sour cream and let cook 1 more hour on low. At the end stir in the cream cheese. At that point I left the cooker on warm and made my noodles to the package directions an then stirred them into the pot. Then my meal was ready to serve!

20120131-075500.jpg

20120131-075539.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Slow Cooked Sunday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

