Broccoli and Cheese Breakfast Casserole

A few weeks ago I made a breakfast casserole on a Sunday. I ate the leftovers for breakfast every morning and felt more awake and less hungry throughout the day because of it. Normally, on a work day I run out the door and eat a granola bar or muffin when I get to work, which is not the best start to my day.

This morning I decide to make another casserole to try and promote having a relaxed and healthy start to my day this week. This casserole is mainly eggs an veggies. You could easily add diced ham or bacon if desired but I wanted to have a healthier option.

20120129-105908.jpg

Preheat the oven to 350.

First, I chopped 1/2 a white onion and 2 Jalapeños. I sautéed them in a pan with 1 tbs EVOO and a little salt and pepper for about 5 minutes. I then mixed the onions and pepper with about 2-3 cups of broccoli florets and evenly spread them across a 9×7″ baking dish. I then chopped up a little bit of orange an red bell pepper and sprinkled it on top.

20120129-110200.jpg

Next I mixed a small carton of egg whites with 4 whole eggs. I chose the whites as a healthier option, but you could easily just do a dozen regular eggs instead. I added some dried oregano and basil (about a tsp or so of each) along with some salt and pepper to the eggs and whisked until combined. Pour the eggs over the veggies in the casserole and then top with about 1 1/2 cups shredded cheese. I used a 4 cheese Italian blend I had in the fridge, but cheddar or mexican blend could work too.

20120129-110633.jpg

Bake in the oven covered for 20 minutes. Then uncover and bake for another 20 minutes. The top should be golden and bubbly and a knife inserted in the center should come out clean.

20120129-110750.jpg

20120129-110806.jpg

Serve plain or my favorite way- with extra hot sauce! 🙂

20120129-110939.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Brunch and Breakfast and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

