Pumpkin and Ricotta Stuffed Shells with Creamy Spinach Sauce

This Sunday I decided to try something new. With one can of pumpkin purée left in my cupboard from fall I came up with this fun vegetarian dish. Full of cheese, spinach and pumpkin this meal is hard not to like.

20120117-074454.jpg

First preheat the oven to 400. Cook your shells according to the package. It should have 2 times listed, 1 for casseroles and one for being completely cooked. You want the lesser time as these will finish cooking in the oven. Once cooked drain them and line them up on a sheet pan until they are cool enough to handle.

20120117-074722.jpg

While the shells cool line the bottom of a 9×7 casserole with half a jar of light Alfredo sauce. Add the remaining half jar and another jar to a large sauce pan, stir in thawed and drained chopped spinach and 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese. while the sauce simmers assemble the filling. 1 cup ricotta, 1 cup pumpkin purée, 1/2 cup grated Parmesan blend cheese and an egg, stirring to combine.

20120117-075029.jpg

At this point the shells should be cool enough to handle. Stuff each shell with a tbs of the pumpkin mixture and add it to the casserole, repeating until the dish is fully lined. Mine held 18 shells. I did make more shells than needed as some may break when boiling.

20120117-075235.jpg

20120117-075312.jpg

Once the dish is full pour the spinach sauce over top, making sure to cover all the shells. Sprinkle the top with freshly grated Parmesano reggiano cheese. Cover and bake in the oven for 35-40 minutes, uncovering half way through to let the cheese fully melt.

20120117-075510.jpg

20120117-075531.jpg

When the casserole is done let it cool for 5 minutes before serving.

20120117-075611.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Creative Casseroles and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

