Burrito Pie

Yesterday I found out that Sean had run out of groceries and with his car in the shop, running errands would be a difficult task for him. I wanted to make something for him that yielded a lot of food for leftovers but also that he wouldn’t get sick of eating a few days in a row. This recipe was easy, delicious and definitely fit the bill.

You will need:

2 lbs of ground beef
1 small white onion, diced
1 can of black beans (rinsed and drained)
1 4 oz can chopped chilies
1 10 oz can of Rotel
1 16 oz jar of salsa
1 packet of taco seasoning
1 can of refried beans
1 package of burrito (10″) sized flour tortillas
3 cups shredded Mexican cheese

20120112-175056.jpg

Preheat the oven to 350.

Brown the meat in a pan and drain off the fat. Add in the onion and sauté for a few minutes before adding the chopped chiles, rotel, salsa, taco seasoning and black beans. Once everything has been stirred in, let it simmer on low heat for about 15-20 minutes.

20120112-175424.jpg

I used spicy salsa but you can use mild for less heat as desired. While the meat cooked I took out my tortillas and spread the refried beans on one side, then pressed a tortilla on top, making a sandwich of sorts.

20120112-175619.jpg

I made 2 of these “sandwiches” but you could make more depending how deep your casserole is and how many layers you want. I then took half of the meat mixture and spooned it into the bottom of the casserole, topped it with half the cheese and both of the refried bean tortilla sandwiches. I then added the rest of the meat mixture and topped with the remaining cheese.

20120112-180013.jpg

20120112-180033.jpg

20120112-180100.jpg

Bake uncovered in the preheated oven for 30 minutes or until the cheese is completely melted, bubbly an beginning to turn golden. You can serve this with sour cream and scallions, but we liked it fine enough as is!

20120112-180311.jpg

20120112-180326.jpg

20120112-180346.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Creative Casseroles, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Burrito Pie

  1. Shanft says:

    I just noticed the margarita in the first picture. Why isn’t that listed in the ingredients?

    • annsley423 says:

      Haha yeah, that wasn’t part of the dish just a side to help get the creative juices flowing. It is easy enough to make, for a pitcher it is 1 can frozen limeade, 1 can water, 1/2 can tequila and a splash of triple sec to taste. Add to a blender and mix in ice as desired. Otherwise just stir and serve on the rocks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

