Sweet and Spicy Pork Chili

This Sunday I wanted a low fuss meal that would be good on a cold night. I made this chili for the first time back in October and loved it! The sweetness of the pineapple with the spicy of the pepper makes a great flavor combo. As someone who doesn’t love pineapple to begin with I thought it was very successful in this dish.

20120108-221243.jpg

As you can tell this has a lot of ingredients. I already had 90% of these things on hand. Spices have a good shelf life, so I always say just go for it if a recipe calls for something you don’t have- then you have it for another recipe later on.

I started by prepping the veggies. I diced an orange bell pepper and seeded 3 Serrano peppers and diced them as well. The seeds and membrane carry most of the heat. Serranos are hotter than Jalapeños, so if you want less spice go for one of those instead. After my prep work was done I browned my meat, drained it and added it to my slow cooker.

20120108-221757.jpg

20120108-221831.jpg

After this I added all my other ingredients: the diced peppers, salt, black pepper, molasses, honey, paprika, sage, curry powder, chili powder, cinnamon sugar, a can of fire roasted diced tomatoes (drained), a can of corn (drained), a can of black beans (drained and rinsed), a can of tomato paste and hard cider. I used Harpoon hard cider, but woodchuck, magners and other ciders would work well too.

I then set my slow cooker on low for 7 hours and went to work (it is Sunday after all).

20120108-222638.jpg

When I got home the apartment smelled great and I couldn’t wait to give this a taste! I like to serve mine with low fat sour cream, shredded cheddar and some scallions sprinkled on top. You can use any combo of these or just eat it plain! I am greatly looking forward to leftovers for lunch this week!

20120108-222937.jpg

20120108-222954.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Slow Cooked Sunday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

