Spicy Southern Style New Years

This year I decided to start my year off with some spice. Not only did I make spicy BBQ pulled chicken sandwiches, but I also did the southern tradition of making black eyed peas the first day of the New Year. The tradition says if you eat them on the first day of the year you will have luck the whole year through (I’ll advise if this is true later, haha.)

For the pulled chicken I seasoned 3 lbs of boneless, skinless chicken breasts with, salt, pepper and everyday seasoning. I added them to my crock pot with a bottle of BBQ sauce and 1 cup of beer. Make sure to use better quality sauce and beer since this is the flavoring for the meat. No light beer, please!

Set the cooker on low for 8 hours and it will do all the work.

20120102-153708.jpg

About 6 1/2 hours into the cooking of my chicken I began my spicy black eyed peas. First I did all my prep work, dicing an onion, red bell pepper, smoked ham and bacon. I also finely chopped 4 Jalapeños. I added some olive oil to a stock pot and sautéed the diced veggies and meat on medium heat for a few minutes. I reserved about 1 tbs each of onion and jalapeño to add at the end for crunch.

20120102-154923.jpg

I then stirred in about a cup or so of water, 3 can of drained an rinsed black eyed peas, a tsp of cumin and 2 tbs of BBQ sauce. I used Dinosaur BBQ brand Wango Tango sauce, which is a habanero sauce. If you don’t like spicy you can use whatever BBQ sauce you like and add less Jalapeños. I then let the pot come to a simmer, covered it and then turned it down to low heat to cook for an hour.

20120102-155625.jpg

Every once in a while I would stir the mixture to make sure nothing was sticking to the bottom. I also mashed some of the beans as it cooked to thicken the sauce.

After 8 hours my chicken was done, I pulled it out of the pot and into a large bowl to shred. I added about 2 cups of the cooking liquid to the bowl and discarded the rest. If you prefer to shred the chicken in the pot, you could, I just had more liquid in the pot than desired for my tastes. I then added the chicken back to the crock pot and stirred in another bottle if BBQ sauce. By this time my beans were done and my chicken was ready to serve.

Right before serving the beans I added in the reserved tbs of onion and jalapeño.

20120102-160435.jpg

I served the pulled chicken on a wheat bun with a kosher pickle. It would have been good plain too or with some coleslaw on top.

20120102-160621.jpg

20120102-160642.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Slow Cooked Sunday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

