Spicy Black Eyed Peas

3 cans of black eyed peas, rinsed and drained
2 tbs olive oil
1 onion, chopped
1 red bell pepper, chopped
4 Jalapeños, minced
8 oz of smoked ham, diced
3 pieces of cooked bacon, crumbled
1 cup water
1 tsp cumin
2 tbs spicy BBQ sauce

Heat the olive oil in a large pan, sauté the onion and jalapeño reserving a tbs of each for later. Add in the ham and bell pepper sautéing for a few more minutes. Stir in the bacon, black eyed peas, water, cumin and BBQ sauce.

Let the pot come to a simmer and then turn the heat down to low and cover. Cook the beans on low for an hour, stirring occasionally. I like a thicker consistency so I mashed the beans a little bit while stirring to add more body to the sauce. About 5 minutes before the beans were done I added the tbs of jalapeño and onion I had reserved. This was just to give the dish a little crunch.

Black eyed peas are supposed to bring you luck if eaten on the first day of the year- I’ll find out if this is true!

20120101-224546.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Special Sides and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

