Pulled Chicken Recipe

3 lbs boneless skinless chicken breasts
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp cracked pepper
1 tsp everyday seasoning
32 oz BBQ sauce
8 oz beer
Whole wheat buns
Pickles or coleslaw (optional)

Season the chicken with the salt, pepper and seasoning. My everyday seasoning is a grinder I got from trader joes. If you don’t have one you could just sub equal parts onions and garlic powder and it should do the trick. Add the seasoned chicken breasts to a crock pot and pour in half of the BBQ sauce and the beer.

Make sure you use quality sauce and beer. They are the super stars of the recipe so quality counts. I used Dinosaur BBQ sauce and Ipswich Ale for the beer. Set the crock pot on low and cook for 8 hours.

After 8 hours remove the chicken breasts to a bowl and shred. You can shred directly in the crock pot if you wanted, but my sauce was a little watery so I mixed 2 cups into the bowl with the shredded chicken an discarded the remaining sauce. I then added the chicken back to the crock and stirred in the other half of the BBQ sauce.

Serve warm on a bun. This works well with pickles or coleslaw on top, but is also good plain.

20120101-215417.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Slow Cooked Sunday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

