Everything but the Kitchen Sink Frittata

One of my favorite things to make when I have left over veggies that I need to use up is a frittata. It is simple, quick and delicious. It is a great breakfast, brunch or dinner meal. Use your favorite veggies, cheese and breakfast meat or whatever you have left over that needs using up!

You will need:

8 eggs
3 tbs milk
Salt and pepper
3 tbs butter
1/2 cup chopped veggies
1/4 cup diced cooked meat (sausage, bacon or ham work best in my opinion)
1/4 cup shredded cheese
2 tablespoons grated Parmesan

That’s the basic gist if the ingredients. If you want this vegetarian just add 1/4 cup more of veggies and omit the meat. I used mushrooms, a jalapeño, scallions and a little white onion for my vegetables, turkey sausage for the meat and shredded Italian blend cheese.

Turn on your broiler and heat a 10″ broiler safe sauté pan on the stove on medium heat. Beat the eggs in a bowl with 3 tbs of milk, salt and pepper. Depending on the saltiness of your meat and cheese add salt as needed, I usually just use a pinch. Melt the butter in the pan and add your veggies, sauté for a few minutes until tender.

20120101-124307.jpg

Next add the meat cooking for a few minutes until it is heated. Add in the eggs and the shredded cheese, stirring to incorporate. Let the egg cook for a few minutes, periodically using a spatula to pull up the sides to let egg on top to move to the bottom of the pan. When the egg is mostly cooked through add the Parmesan cheese to the top and pop it in the broiler.

20120101-125232.jpg

20120101-125247.jpg

The frittata is done when the egg is completely set and the cheese has begun to brown. This should take about 3-5 minutes but it can depend in the broiler and how close the pan is to the heat. I usually keep my baking rack on the middle shelf and turn the light on in my oven and just watch until it looks right. Since the heat from the broiler is so strong you could even keep the door open a crack to keep an eye on it if you do not have an oven light.

20120101-125621.jpg

Move the frittata onto a plate and cut into 4 slices. You can serve it plain, with some chopped herbs or scallions on top or with a few dashes or your favorite hot sauce.

20120101-130031.jpg

20120101-130049.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Brunch and Breakfast, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

