Gorgonzola Mac and Cheese

8 oz. (half a box) of pasta, cork screw, elbow or rotini work best
1 1/2 – 2 cups Gorgonzola sauce (see recipe for pork tenderloin with gorgonzola sauce on the recipe section of this site)
1 cup cooked and crumbled turkey sausage
1 cup diced button or cremini mushrooms
1 tbs butter
1 – 1 1/2 cups panko bread crumbs
3 tbs Gorgonzola cheese

After so much cooking last weekend it was no surprise that I had plenty of food left over. This was good because Christmas left my wallet stretched a little thin. I thought what better way to use up my leftovers than with my favorite stand by, Mac and cheese. I used the left over gorgonzola sauce from my pork dish for the sauce and the remaining turkey sausage and mushrooms from my stuffed mushrooms to make the filling. The result was cheesy, crispy and scrumptious!

Before doing anything i preheated the oven to 350.

Then I salted and boiled some water in a stock pot before adding my cellentani (cork screw shaped) pasta. This is a good pasta for holding sauce in a Mac and cheese. Elbows, shells or rotini also work well, but this was what I had on hand.

I cooked the pasta one minute less than the package instructions for al dente since this would finish cooking in the oven. Then I drained the pasta and added it back to the pot. I stirred in my leftover sauce, crumbled turkey sausage and mushrooms until completely mixed before pouring it into a 9×7″ baking dish.

20111228-073735.jpg

I then melted a tablespoon of butter in a bowl and stirred in the panko, mixing until the crumbs were all lightly buttered. I evenly spread the crumb topping over the dish and then sprinkled a few tbs of gorgonzola over that.

20111228-073949.jpg

I baked the casserole in the oven for 25 minutes, until the top was golden and the cheese topping was crisp and delicious.

20111228-074333.jpg

20111228-074353.jpg

This was a great way to use up leftovers and now I have lunch for the week. This makes 4 servings. Like my new dishes? There were a present from my brother and sister in law 🙂

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Creative Casseroles, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

