Christmas Eve Dinner- Pork Tenderloin with Gorgonzola Sauce

This year I offered to cook Christmas Eve dinner for my parents. In our family we usually have just the immediate family at Christmas eve and then head to CT Christmas day to spend the holiday with more family members. I wanted the meal to be special but not too over the top since it would just be the three of us. This meal was big enough to serve six, but I think I can manage to utilize the leftovers for other meals. 😉

I put a lot of planning into the dinner knowing that I had a few other things I needed to do Christmas eve. I made the roasted garlic mashed potatoes ahead of time as well as the sautéed spinach and mushrooms. This allowed me to focus on the pork while cooking at my parents, but also gave me more free time to spend with them as well.

Before coming over I had prepared and refrigerated some stuffed mushrooms. These were my appetizer as my mom loves mushrooms. They were stuffed with ricotta, cooked turkey sausage, sun dried tomatoes and Italian cheese blend. I topped them with cheese and baked them for 15 minutes. These definitely got us looking forward to the actual meal.

20111227-074019.jpg

For the pork I used 2 1lb tenderloins. I seared each of them in a pan on all sides before slathering them in sauce. They took about 10 minutes to brown.

I had made a simple rub of Dijon, dried thyme and olive oil. I made sure to coat all sides if the pork with the marinade and added the tenderloins to a greased baking sheet. I cooked them at 425 for 30 minutes. When they came out they smelled and looked delicious!

While my pork rested I made the sauce, which was actually the star of the show. This gorgonzola sauce is velvety and delicious. It could be used in many applications but is absolutely wonderful on this pork.

First melt a tbs of butter and stir in a tbs of flour cooking for a few minutes to make a roux. Add 1 cup of whipping cream and stir letting it thicken, then add 1/4 cup dry white wine and 1/4 cup low sodium chicken broth. Then after it has cooked down a little more add 1 cup crumbled gorgonzola. Cook until the cheese has melted and the sauce is smooth.

At this point my pork had rested and I had also re-heated my make ahead sides. The pork was ready to slice and the dinner ready to be served.

20111227-075131.jpg

My parents said the meal was restaurant quality and the sauce was even better. It was nice to make something special for my parents who have done so much for me. This is definitely a dish to remember!

20111227-075502.jpg

20111227-174417.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Special Occasions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

