Merry Christmas Muffins and a Delightful Holiday Dinner

Yesterday was an all around perfect holiday. Somehow I made it on the nice list, which was apparent by the company of my wonderful relatives and the plethora of thoughtful presents I received. (Many of which were cooking related and will be popping up on here soon enough!) As a gift to my mother I am in the 2nd year running of making pumpkin chocolate chip muffins as a Christmas morning treat.

Back when I was in high school my mom would frequent a bakery that made loaves of pumpkin chocolate chip bread. Sadly, the business closed a few years ago and to this day my mom has not found a replacement for her delicious supply of pumpkin treats. My muffins were well received last year, but were even better this year with a little tweaking to my old recipe. These are yummy and have a vegetable in them, so they are more than acceptable as a breakfast food, right mom? πŸ˜‰

First mix some sugar, vegetable oil, eggs, pumpkin puree and water in a bowl. Seperately, in a large bowl, mix all-purpose flour, baking poweder, baking soda, pumpkin pie spice, all spice, nutmeg, cinnamon and salt. Pour the wet mixture into the dry mixture and stir until combined and there are no lumps.

20111226-100137.jpg

20111226-100204.jpg

Add the chocolate chips to a separate bowl, the recipe says 1/2 a cup but I used 3/4 cup- oops! πŸ˜‰ add a tsp of flour to the chips and stir to lightly coat each chip. This prevents them from sinking to the bottom when they bake. Fold the chips into the batter and fill a lined muffin tin 3/4 way full with batter. This should make 12 muffins. Bake at 400 for 20-25 minutes. Mine were done at 20 minutes.

20111226-100541.jpg

20111226-100558.jpg

Take the muffins out of the tin and let cool completely. The muffins can stick to the wrapper if you try eating before cooled.

20111226-100908.jpg

Me and my parents enjoyed the muffins before heading down to Connecticut to spend the day with my dad’s cousin Steve and his wife Diane. We had a nice afternoon together, Dave and Laura were there as well and my great aunt Janie and Diane’s father Matt. We all had a great time chatting and catching up.

Most importantly, we had a fantastic Christmas dinner prepared by Diane. Bruchette to start and then beef Wellington(!), mashed potatoes, corn casserole, balsamic green beans and gravy. The dinner was a feast fit for royalty. Diane has made a delicious dinner for us every year and this was excellent!

20111226-101611.jpg

20111226-101629.jpg

By the end of the day we were all full and happy. We all headed home with a smile on our faces, but ready for a nice nights sleep after a long fun filled day. Even Steve and Diane’s cat Jette was ready for bed by the time we left.

I hope everyone had a wonderful day and also got to spend it with the people they love! Happy Holidays!

20111226-102114.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Sunday Dinners. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Merry Christmas Muffins and a Delightful Holiday Dinner

  1. Dad says:

    I know we got to spend Christmas that way – deliciously wonderful company and food! What could be better?

Leave a Reply

