Curried Red Quinoa

Last night I was in the mood for something spicy, but healthy. I had recently purchased some red quinoa without any dish in mind. I happened across this recipe saved in my recipe folder and thought I would give it a try. It had minimal ingredients and used up the mushroom broth I had in my fridge. I was delighted with the outcome and know I will be making this again and again!

20111214-073915.jpg

Prep work involved dicing an onion. Literally that was it. I would have minced garlic too, but I had some on hand in the fridge already. (hooray for weeknight shortcuts!) I heated some oil in a pan and sautéed the onion and garlic for a few minutes before adding the quinoa and toasting for 5 minutes.

You want to always rinse the quinoa before you use it and toast it before adding the broth. Rinsing takes off the bitter coating on the seed and toasting brings out more delicious flavor. Trust me on these two tips and you will get the best flavor from your dish.

20111214-074458.jpg

20111214-074523.jpg

After the quinoa had cooked for 5 minutes I added my mushroom broth and brought it to a boil. You could use vegetable or chicken broth if you want, but this was what I had on hand. Once boiling I added a tbs of curry powder and a tbs of chili powder, turned the stove down to a simmer, covered and cooked for 25 minutes.

20111214-075108.jpg

20111214-075142.jpg

After 25 minutes the quinoa was tender and the liquid had been absorbed. This dish was spicy and warming and boy was it good! Just the thing for a cold weeknight. I am now seeing curry quinoa cakes in the near future… Mmm!

20111214-075441.jpg

20111214-075510.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Special Sides. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

