Turkey Sausage and Mushroom Strata Recipe

1 lb Turkey sausage, casings removed (or see my recipe for coriander turkey sausage on this site)
2 cups sliced mushrooms
1/2 an onion, diced
1 small red bell pepper, sliced into small pieces
1 tbs olive oil
6 English muffins cut in half and toasted
8 eggs
2 cups 2% milk
1 tsp salt
1 tsp mustard powder
1/2 tsp cracked black pepper
2 cups shredded Colby jack cheese, divided
Red pepper flakes, optional

Grease a 9 x 13″ baking pan. Place toasted English muffin halves along the bottom of the pan. Cut up some of the halves and fill in any gaps, the bottom should be completely covered.

Brown turkey sausage, making into crumbles as you cook. Set aside in a bowl. Sauté mushrooms and onion in the same pan you cooked the sausage in. Add a tbs of oil if pan seems too dry. Add cooked vegetables to sausage and stir to combine.

In a separate bowl whisk together the eggs, milk, mustard, salt and pepper.

Sprinkle 1 cup of cheese on top of the English muffins. Spoon sausage and mushroom mixture on top. Evenly distribute the sliced red pepper over the top. Pour eggs into the pan, cover and refridgerate overnight or for 8 hours.

The next day remove the pan from the fridge and let sit for half an hour while you preheat the oven to 375. Sprinkle remaining cup of cheese on top and add some red pepper flakes, as desired. Bake for 40 minutes. Let cool for a few minutes and serve.

20111210-131639.jpg

About annsley423

I work in Boston at an online retail company called Wayfair.com. I work within the Order Processing department, trying to stop fraudulent orders among other tasks. My company has a large catalogue of kitchen items, which has been both helpful (to my cooking) and detrimental (to my wallet). I am a self taught cook, learning mostly from watching cooking shows and doing trial and error within my own kitchen. I am making this blog as a way to share ideas and successes, as well as curb boredom in my small apartment. In my spare time besides cooking, I like to read, take pictures and have fun with my friends. I am also trying to learn more about wine and hopefully that will eventually be incorporated within the blog as well.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

